Head Earns Spot on All-Rookie Second Team

Head Earns Spot on T-Mobile All-Rookie
Second Team

Official Press Release

HOUSTON, May 4 – Houston Rockets guard/forward Luther Head was named to the T-Mobile NBA All-Rookie Second Team, which was announced today by the NBA as part of the T-Mobile All-Rookie Team announcement. He becomes just the 15th rookie in Rockets history to earn All-Rookie Team recognition.

Head (6-3, Illinois), who averaged 8.8 points, 3.3 rebounds and 2.7 assists in his first season with the Rockets, finished with 113 3-pointers made to lead all rookies in 2005-06. He was also sixth in 3-point field goal percentage among rookie qualifiers (.361, 113-313 3FG). Head made his 100th 3-pointer of the season at the 3:48 mark of the third quarter at Portland (4/5). He is the first Rockets rookie to make 100 3-point field goals in a season since Steve Francis (.345, 107-310 3FG) in 1999-2000. Head also led the Rockets and finished 20th in the NBA in steals-per-turnover ratio (0.75, 89 steals, 119 turnovers).

Selected by Houston in the first round (24th overall) of the 2005 NBA Draft, Head made 27 starts in his 80 games played in 2005-06. In his 27 starts, Head averaged 12.3 points, 4.2 rebounds, 3.4 assists and 1.70 steals. He was also 48-of-121 (.397) from the 3-point line as a starter. In addition, four of his five 20-point games this season came when he was in the starting lineup. Head also recorded a season-best, five-game streak of double-digit scoring (11/22-11/29). He started the run with a career-high 28 points in a start at Dallas (11/22). Over those five games, Head recorded 17 3-pointers.

The voting panel for the T-Mobile NBA All-Rookie Team consisted of the NBA’s 30 head coaches, who were asked to select five players for the first team and five players for the second team, regardless of position. Coaches were not permitted to vote for players on their own team. Two points were awarded for first team votes and one for second team votes.

Below is a look at the all-time list of Rockets to earn All-Rookie Team selection:


First Team

1969 Elvin Hayes

1971 Calvin Murphy

1976 Joe C. Meriweather

1977 John Lucas

1984 Ralph Sampson

1985 Hakeem Olajuwon

2000 Steve Francis

2003 Yao Ming

Second Team

1984 Rodney McCray

1993 Robert Horry

1997 Matt Maloney

1999 Michael Dickerson

1999 Cuttino Mobley

2002 Eddie Griffin

2006 Luther Head


  • Facebook
  • Twitter