Pacers vs Bucks

Shootaround: Vogel Previews Milwaukee Matchup

November 4, 2014 - Pacers head coach Frank Vogel talks about facing the Milwaukee Bucks for the first time in 2014-15 and discusses the growth of Solomon Hill.

Pacers-Bucks Preview 141104

Scroll Video up Scroll Video down Scroll Video left Scroll Video right

Shootaround: Vogel Previews Milwaukee Matchup

November 4, 2014 - Pacers head coach Frank Vogel talks about facing the Milwaukee Bucks for the first time in 2014-15 and discusses the growth of Solomon Hill.
Nov 4, 2014  |  02:00

Vogel Gives Injury Update, Looks Ahead to Week 2

November 3, 2014 - Pacers head coach Frank Vogel updates the statuses of Rodney Stuckey and David West and looks ahead to playing four games in five nights this week, beginning Tuesday against the Bucks.
Nov 3, 2014  |  02:33

Donald Sloan: We're Taking it One Game at a Time

November 3, 2014 - Donald Sloan talks about his transition into the starting lineup and the team's mindset heading into a busy week with four games.
Nov 3, 2014  |  02:34

Solomon Hill: Need to Finish Out Games

November 3, 2014 - Pacers forward Solomon Hill talks about playing backup point guard, his improved 3-point shot, and the importance of learning to close out games.
Nov 3, 2014  |  02:21

Rodney Stuckey Talks About Injury Recovery

November 3, 2014 - Rodney Stuckey talks about his recovery from a foot injury and says he hopes to be back on the court for Tuesday's game against Milwaukee.
Nov 3, 2014  |  02:52

Game Preview: Pacers vs Bucks

Tuesday, November 4, 2014 at 7:00 PM ET at Bankers Life Fieldhouse
by Wheat Hotchkiss
Pacers.com Writer/Editor
@Wheat_Hotchkiss

Last Updated: Nov. 3, 2014 at 3:50 p.m.

Matchup

The Pacers (1-2) play their first divisional game of the season on Tuesday night, when they welcome the Milwaukee Bucks (1-2) to Bankers Life Fieldhouse. Indiana swept last season's series with the Bucks, winning all four games.

The young Bucks figure to be improved this year. Milwaukee drafted prolific scorer Jabari Parker with the second overall pick in the 2014 NBA Draft. The team also hired Jason Kidd as its new coach, replacing Larry Drew. Kidd won 44 games in Brooklyn last year in his first year of coaching after a 19-year playing career.

So far this season, the Bucks have a home win over Philadelphia and road losses to Charlotte and Washington. Fourth-year point guard Brandon Knight is off to a great start, averaging 19.7 points and 9.0 assists per game. Veteran guard O.J. Mayo is averaging 15 points per game off the bench. Parker is contributing 10.7 points per contest, but is shooting just 35.1 percent from the field.

The already shorthanded Pacers lost another player in Saturday's 102-92 loss in Atlanta. Guard Rodney Stuckey, who missed 10 days in the preseason with a sore left foot, reinjured the same foot in the first quarter and did not return. Following Monday's practice, head coach Frank Vogel said that Stuckey strained a tendon in his foot. Stuckey participated in part of Monday's practice, but is questionable for Tuesday's game.

If Stuckey cannot go, the team's wings will have to fill in by committee at backup point guard in relief of starter Donald Sloan. On Saturday, second-year forward Solomon Hill was the team's primary ball-handler when Sloan left the game.

The Pacers won't get any additional reinforcements in the immediate future. Two-time All-Star forward David West was initially ruled out just for the team's first three games, but Vogel said West still can't walk without pain and won't play in any of the team's four games this week. Point guards George Hill and C.J. Watson also remain out at least through this week.

Projected Starters

Pacers: PG - Donald Sloan, SG - C.J. Miles, SF - Solomon Hill, PF - Luis Scola, C - Roy Hibbert
Bucks: PG - Brandon Knight, SG - Jared Dudley, SF - Jabari Parker, PF - Khris Middleton, C - Larry Sanders

Injury Report

Pacers: Paul George - out (rehabilitation, fractured right tibia/fibula), George Hill - out (left knee contusion), C.J. Watson - out (bruised right foot), David West - out (sprained right ankle), Rodney Stuckey - questionable (sore left foot)
Bucks: Damien Inglis - out (right ankle), Johnny O’Bryant - out (right knee sprain)

You Can Quote Me On That

"They're talented. They're young. They've got length. Parker seems like he's going to be a star. And Jason Kidd proved last year that he's a heck of a basketball coach. They're going to probably have a much better season than they did last year." -Frank Vogel on Milwaukee

"I think we're growing. I think we played two good basketball games (even though) we got two losses the last two games. We've got to play good basketball and get a win Tuesday night." -Vogel

"I try to push myself as much as possible. I've got great teammates out there picking up a lot of the slack offensively, defensively helping me out. So I feel okay with any amount of minutes." -Donald Sloan on playing extended minutes at point guard due to injuries

"I feel like I probably just got a lot of my misses out in the preseason. I kept believing in it. I felt like it was a test." -Solomon Hill on his 3-point shot (after going 0-for-8 from long range in the preseason, Hill has started the regular season 4-for-9)

"I hate being injured. I hate not being out competing there with my teammates. It's tough. But at the same time, I've got to be very cautious about my body and (make) sure I'm healing right." -Rodney Stuckey

Last Meeting

April 9, 2014: Chris Copeland's runner with 1.2 seconds remaining lifted Indiana to a 94-92 win in Milwaukee. The Pacers won despite resting all five starters in the final week of the regular season.

Luis Scola led Indiana with 24 points and nine rebounds. Evan Turner added 23 points, seven rebounds, and nine assists.

Brandon Knight led five Bucks in double figures, totaling 25 points and 10 assists. Jeff Adrien (13 points and 17 rebounds) also recorded a double-double.

Noteworthy

  • Indiana has won six straight games against Milwaukee and 11 of the last 13.
  • The Pacers are 52-34 all-time against the Bucks in games played in Indiana.
  • Pacers guard Donald Sloan and Bucks forward Khris Middleton were teammates at Texas A&M in 2009-10, when Sloan was a senior and Middleton a freshman.
  • The Bucks will return to Indianapolis on March 12 while the Pacers make trips to Milwaukee on Jan. 2 and March 26.

Broadcast Information

TV: FOX Sports Indiana - Chris Denari (play-by-play), Quinn Buckner (analyst), Jeremiah Johnson (sideline reporter/host)
Radio: 107.5/1070 The Fan - Mark Boyle (play-by-play), Slick Leonard (analyst), Pat Boylan (sideline reporter/host)

Tags
NEXT UP:

  • Facebook
  • Twitter