Domantas Sabonis
NBAE/Getty Images

Sabonis Named Finalist for NBA Sixth Man Award

Winner to be Revealed at NBA Awards on June 24

Pacers center Domantas Sabonis is a finalist for the Kia NBA Sixth Man Award, the NBA announced on Friday. Sabonis, a 6-11 center, is one of three finalists for the annual award. The other two finalists are both from the Los Angeles Clippers: Montrezl Harrell and Lou Williams.

In his third NBA season and his second in Indiana, Sabonis appeared in 74 games in the 2018-19 season, coming off the bench in 69 of those contests. He averaged 14.1 points, 9.3 rebounds, and 2.9 assists per game, all career highs.

Sabonis led the Pacers with 30 double-doubles in the regular season, including 27 as a reserve, the highest total for any bench player in the NBA. He also set a franchise record with a .590 field goal percentage.

The NBA announced the finalists for six awards that honor top performers from the 2018-19 regular season on Friday, including the Kia NBA Sixth Man Award. Finalists were also revealed for Kia NBA Most Valuable Player, Kia NBA Rookie of the Year, Kia NBA Defensive Player of the Year, Kia NBA Most Improved Player, and NBA Coach of the Year.

The winners of these awards will be revealed at the 2019 NBA Awards presented by Kia on Monday, June 24 at 9 p.m. ET on TNT. The third annual NBA Awards will take place at Barker Hangar in Los Angeles.

The Sixth Man Award has been awarded annually since the 1982-83 season. Detlef Schrempf is the only Pacers player to ever win the award, taking home the honor in back-to-back years in 1991 and 1992.

The finalists for the six annual awards, based on voting results from a global panel of sportswriters and broadcasters, are below:

Kia NBA Most Valuable Player

Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee Bucks
Paul George, Oklahoma City Thunder
James Harden, Houston Rockets

Kia NBA Rookie of the Year

Deandre Ayton, Phoenix Suns
Luka Dončić, Dallas Mavericks
Trae Young, Atlanta Hawks

Kia NBA Sixth Man Award

Montrezl Harrell, LA Clippers
Domantas Sabonis, Indiana Pacers
Lou Williams, LA Clippers

Kia NBA Defensive Player of the Year

Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee Bucks
Paul George, Oklahoma City Thunder
Rudy Gobert, Utah Jazz

Kia NBA Most Improved Player

De'Aaron Fox, Sacramento Kings
D'Angelo Russell, Brooklyn Nets
Pascal Siakam, Toronto Raptors

NBA Coach of the Year

Mike Budenholzer, Milwaukee Bucks
Michael Malone, Denver Nuggets
Doc Rivers, LA Clippers

Complete voting results for each award will be posted on the night of the 2019 NBA Awards presented by Kia.

The 2019 NBA Awards presented by Kia will also feature the announcement of the winners for the NBA Basketball Executive of the Year Award, the Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year Award, the NBA Sportsmanship Award, the Seasonlong NBA Cares Community Assist Award presented by Kaiser Permanente, the NBA Hustle Award, and the fan-voted House of Highlights Moment of the Year.

In addition, basketball icons Magic Johnson and Larry Bird will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award and broadcasting legend Robin Roberts will be honored with the Sager Strong Award.


  • Facebook
  • Twitter