Skip to main content

Main content


Catching up with Clutch City

These players shaped the Houston Rockets' NBA championship teams of 1994 and '95. What have they been up to since then?

POSTED: Jun 4, 2015 3:23 PM ET


In 1994 and '95, the Houston Rockets emerged as NBA champions in two markedly different ways.

Before the start of the 1993-94 season, Chicago Bulls star Michael Jordan shocked the NBA world by announcing his retirement from the league to pursue a career in Major League Baseball. His departure left the Bulls weakened and, consequently, opened the door for a host of would-be champions across the NBA landscape to dream big.

Many teams had Finals dreams, but only one squad, the Houston Rockets, realized them. In 1993-94 and in 1994-95 -- the season in which Jordan returned to the Bulls -- Houston won back-to-back titles in two very different ways.

NBA TV will commemorate the 20-year anniversary of the Rockets' championships with "Clutch City," a documentary that will air at 9 p.m. ET Monday, June 8. Produced by the Sports Emmy Award-winning NBA TV Originals, "Clutch City" examines the Rockets' 1993-94 and 1994-95 teams that included NBA greats Hakeem Olajuwon, Clyde Drexler, Kenny Smith, Robert Horry, Sam Cassell and Vernon Maxwell.

These are the then-and-now stories of some of the standout players from those teams:

Clutch City (Premieres June 8th)

NBA Entertainment looks back at the 'Clutch City' Houston Rockets' championship teams of 1994 and 1995. Premieres June 8, at 9 p.m. ET, exclusively on NBA TV.


Scott Brooks (1993-94)

Sam Cassell (1993-94 & 1994-95)

Clyde Drexler (1994-95)

Mario Elie (1993-94 & 1994-95)

Vernon Maxwell (1993-94 & 1994-95)

Kenny Smith (1993-94 & 1994-95)


Chucky Brown (1994-95)

Matt Bullard (1993-94)

Pete Chilcutt (1994-95)

Earl Cureton (1993-94)

Carl Herrera (1993-94 & 1994-95)

Robert Horry (1993-94 & 1994-95)

Chris Jent (1993-94)

Otis Thorpe (1993-94)


Charles Jones (1994-95)

Hakeem Olajuwon (1993-94 & 1994-95)

Zan Tabak (1994-95)