NEW YORK, April 21 – Memphis Grizzlies head coach Hubie Brown has been named the winner of the Red Auerbach Trophy as the NBA Coach of the Year for the 2003-04 season, the NBA announced today.

News conference: Play

Brown is a two-time winner of Coach of the Year.
Gregory Shamus
NBAE/Getty Images
Brown, who is in his second year at the helm of the Grizzlies, received 466 points, including 62 of a possible 122 first-place votes, from a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada. Coaches were awarded five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote received. Utah’s Jerry Sloan was second with 424 points (56 first-place votes) and Terry Porter of Milwaukee and Miami’s Stan Van Gundy tied for third with 54 points each (one first-place vote each).

Honored for the second time in his career as NBA Coach of the Year, Brown first won the award in 1977-78 as the head coach of the Atlanta Hawks. With the youngest roster in the NBA at the time, the Hawks finished that season with at 41-41 mark while making the playoffs for the first time in five seasons.

Brown, the first coach in the Grizzlies’ nine-year history to receive Coach of the Year honors, came out of retirement two weeks into last season to become head coach on November 12, 2002, leading them to a then franchise-best 28 victories. This year, in his first full season at the helm, Memphis posted a 50-32 record, the franchise’s first winning season and first playoff berth as the sixth seed in the West.

Over his 30-year coaching career, including 12 spent in the NBA, Brown has coached teams to six NBA playoff appearances and a championship in the American Basketball Association (ABA). He began his coaching career on the high school level at St. Mary’s School in Little Falls, NY (nine years) and then served as an assistant coach for one year at William & Mary (1968) and four years at Duke University (1969-72). He first moved to the NBA in 1972 as an assistant coach with the Milwaukee Bucks.

Brown has served as a sports analyst for both college and pro basketball broadcasts. After leaving the Knicks in 1986-87, Brown became the lead analyst at CBS in 1988 where he served for two years. He also worked for the Philadelphia 76ers and Detroit Pistons’ local broadcasts during the 1987-88 season in addition to serving as lead analyst with Turner Sports.

The Coach of the Year Award is named after legendary coach and Hall of Famer Red Auerbach who guided the Celtics to nine NBA Championships. In 1996 Auerbach was honored as one of the Top 10 Coaches in NBA History as the NBA celebrated its 50th anniversary.

Following are the balloting results for the 2003-04 NBA Coach of the Year award:

Coach, Team1st2nd3rdPts
Hubie Brown, Memphis62506466
Jerry Sloan, Utah564412424
Terry Porter, Milwaukee153454
Stan Van Gundy, Miami1101954
Rick Carlisle, Indiana232241
Jeff Bzdelik, Denver041325
Flip Saunders, Minnesota031019
Phil Jackson, L.A. Lakers0228
Rick Adelman, Sacramento0103
Gregg Popovich, San Antonio0033
Paul Silas, Cleveland0011


1962-63: Harry Gallatin, St. Louis*
1963-64: Alex Hannum, San Francisco
1964-65: Red Auerbach, Boston
1965-66: Dolph Schayes, Philadelphia
1966-67: Johnny Kerr, Chicago*
1967-68: Richie Guerin, St. Louis
1968-69: Gene Shue, Baltimore
1969-70: Red Holzman, New York
1970-71: Dick Motta, Chicago
1971-72: Bill Sharman, Los Angeles
1972-73: Tom Heinsohn, Boston
1973-74: Ray Scott, Detroit
1974-75: Phil Johnson, Kansas City-Omaha
1975-76: Bill Fitch, Cleveland
1976-77: Tom Nissalke, Houston
1977-78: Hubie Brown, Atlanta
1978-79: Cotton Fitzsimmons, Kansas City
1979-80: Bill Fitch, Boston
1980-81: Jack McKinney, Indiana
1981-82: Gene Shue, Washington
1982-83: Don Nelson, Milwaukee
1983-84: Frank Layden, Utah
1984-85: Don Nelson, Milwaukee
1985-86: Mike Fratello, Atlanta
1986-87: Mike Schuler, Portland*
1987-88: Doug Moe, Denver
1988-89: Cotton Fitzsimmons, Phoenix
1989-90: Pat Riley, Los Angeles Lakers
1990-91: Don Chaney, Houston
1991-92: Don Nelson, Golden State
1992-93: Pat Riley, New York
1993-94: Lenny Wilkens, Atlanta
1994-95: Del Harris, Los Angeles Lakers
1995-96: Phil Jackson, Chicago
1996-97: Pat Riley, Miami
1997-98: Larry Bird, Indiana*
1998-99: Mike Dunleavy, Portland
1999-2000: Doc Rivers, Orlando*
2000-01: Larry Brown, Philadelphia
2001-02: Rick Carlisle, Detroit*
2002-03: Gregg Popovich, San Antonio
2003-04: Hubie Brown, Memphis
*First-year head coach