Skip to main content

Main content


West romps past East with record-setting 196-173 win

Westbrook repeats as MVP; George drops 41 for East

POSTED: Feb 15, 2016 7:48 AM ET


2016 NBA All-Star Game Recap: West vs. East

Two-time All-Star MVP Russell Westbrook speaks following the All-Star Game.

Toronto -- 65th NBA All-Star Game
West 196, East 173

The Lakers are in the midst of a rebuilding season, but at least Kobe Bryant was a winner in one of the signature contests of the season.

His West team rolled up the score, helped by Russell Westbrook's 31 points, and easily distanced itself from the East with a record-setting 196-173 victory. Most of the suspense that's usually in All-Star Games all but disappeared in the third quarter.

Westbrook's 31 Wins MVP

Russell Westbrook scores 31 points in the 2016 NBA All-Star game to win the Most Valuable Player award.

Westbrook won the MVP award for the second straight season, becoming the first player to do so. Paul George led all scorers with 41 points, making nine from deep. George fell one point shy of tying Wilt Chamberlain for the single-game scoring record.

Steph Curry punctuated the game by sinking a 40-footer in the final seconds, which was symbolic of the season he's having for the Warriors. Even with the basket, the West fell four points shy of 200.

But the 369 combined points were 48 more than last year's All-Star record, and both clubs blew away the previous individual team record of 163.

Bryant made his 18th and final All-Star appearance after getting the fan vote to start, and the night catered to him. He was the last player introduced, received the loudest and longest applause at Air Canada Centre, and received a send-off from Magic Johnson before the game as a Kobe video tribute played. Both squads gave him a standing ovation.

Paul George's 41 Points

Highlights from Paul George as he scores 41 points in the East loss to the West.

Drake joined in, as the hip-hop star wore a custom-made leather All-Star jacket with Kobe patches.

And then there was West coach Greg Popovich's personal tribute, sending Kobe out to jump center against LeBron James.

Bryant finished with 10 points, after a few playful one-on-one contests with James. The most meaningful line from Kobe is that he played the most minutes on the West. He received a standing ovation when he left the game with 1:06 left.

The game was the first in Canada and during a break the league honored Jim Naismith, the grandson of basketball founder James Naismith, a native of Canada.

-- Shaun Powell

Western Conference All-Stars

Kobe Bryant, L.A. Lakers
Stephen Curry, Golden State
Kevin Durant, Oklahoma City
Kawhi Leonard, San Antonio
Russell Westbrook, Oklahoma City

Draymond Green, Golden State
Klay Thompson, Golden State
Chris Paul, L.A. Clippers
James Harden, Houston
DeMarcus Cousins, Sacramento
LaMarcus Aldridge, San Antonio
Anthony Davis, New Orleans

Eastern Conference All-Stars

Carmelo Anthony, New York
Paul George, Indiana
LeBron James, Cleveland
Kyle Lowry, Toronto
Dwyane Wade, Miami

* Pau Gasol, Chicago
John Wall, Washington
Andre Drummond, Detroit
** Al Horford, Atlanta
DeMar DeRozan, Toronto
Paul Millsap, Atlanta
Isaiah Thomas, Boston
* Replaces Jimmy Butler (injured)
** Replaces Chris Bosh (injured)

2015 Game Recap:

2015 All-Star Game

Russell Westbrook scored 41 points, earning MVP honors and leading the West over the East in the 2015 NBA All-Star Game.

NBA All-Star Game Results

Click on the All-Star game results for complete All-Star rosters, coaches, game recaps and event winners for every year.

Year Result MVP Location
2016 West 196, East 173 Russell Westbrook Toronto, Ont.
2015 West 163, East 158 Russell Westbrook New York, N.Y.
2014 East 163, West 155 Kyrie Irving New Orleans, La.
2013 West 143, East 138 Chris Paul Houston, Texas
2012 West 152, East 149 Kevin Durant Orlando, Fla.
2011 West 148, East 143 Kobe Bryant Los Angeles, Calif.
2010 East 141, West 139 Dwyane Wade Arlington, Texas
2009 West 146, East 119 Kobe Bryant, Shaquille O'Neal Phoenix, Ariz.
2008 East 134, West 128 LeBron James New Orleans, La.
2007 West 153, East 132 Kobe Bryant Las Vegas, Nev.
2006 East 122, West 120 LeBron James Houston, Texas
2005 East 125, West 115 Allen Iverson Denver, Colo.
2004 West 136, East 132 Shaquille O'Neal Los Angeles, Calif.
2003 West 155, East 145 (2OT) Kevin Garnett Atlanta, Ga.
2002 West 135, East 120 Kobe Bryant Philadelphia, Pa.
2001 East 111, West 110 Allen Iverson Washington, D.C.
2000 West 137, East 126 Tim Duncan, Shaquille O'Neal Oakland, Calif.
1998 East 135, West 114 Michael Jordan New York, N.Y.
1997 East 132, West 120 Glen Rice Cleveland, Ohio
1996 East 129, West 118 Michael Jordan San Antonio, Texas
1995 West 139, East 112 Mitch Richmond Phoenix, Ariz.
1994 East 127, West 118 Scottie Pippen Minneapolis, Minn.
1993 West 135, East 132 (OT) Karl Malone, John Stockton Salt Lake City, Utah
1992 West 153, East 113 Magic Johnson Orlando, Fla.
1991 East 116, West 114 Charles Barkley Charlotte, N.C.
1990 East 130, West 113 Magic Johnson Miami, Fla.
1989 West 143, East 134 Karl Malone Houston, Texas
1988 East 138, West 133 Michael Jordan Chicago, Ill.
1987 West 154, East 149 (OT) Tom Chambers Seattle, Wash.
1986 East 139, West 132 Isiah Thomas Dallas, Texas
1985 West 140, East 129 Ralph Sampson Indianapolis, Ind.
1984 East 154, West 145 (OT) Isiah Thomas Denver, Colo.
1983 East 132, West 123 Julius Erving Inglewood, Calif.
1982 East 120, West 118 Larry Bird East Rutherford, N.J.
1981 East 123, West 120 Tiny Archibald Richfield, Ohio
1980 East 144, West 136 (OT) George Gervin Landover, Md.
1979 West 134, East 129 David Thompson Detroit, Mich.
1978 East 133, West 125 Randy Smith Atlanta, Ga.
1977 West 125, East 124 Julius Erving Milwaukee, Wisc.
1976 East 123, West 109 Dave Bing Philadelphia, Pa.
1975 East 108, West 102 Walt Frazier Phoenix, Ariz.
1974 West 134, East 123 Bob Lanier San Antonio, Texas
1973 East 104, West 84 Dave Cowens Chicago, Ill.
1972 West 112, East 110 Jerry West Inglewood, Calif.
1971 West 108, East 107 Lenny Wilkens San Diego, Calif.
1970 East 142, West 135 Willis Reed Philadelphia, Pa.
1969 East 123, West 112 Oscar Robertson Baltimore, Md.
1968 East 144, West 124 Hal Greer New York, N.Y.
1967 West 135, East 120 Rick Barry San Francisco, Calif.
1966 East 137, West 94 Adrian Smith Cincinnati, Ohio
1965 East 124, West 123 Jerry Lucas St. Louis, Mo.
1964 East 111, West 107 Oscar Robertson Boston, Mass.
1963 East 115, West 108 Bill Russell Los Angeles, Calif.
1962 West 150, East 130 Bob Pettit St. Louis, Mo.
1961 West 153, East 131 Oscar Robertson Syracuse, N.Y.
1960 East 125, West 115 Wilt Chamberlain Philadelphia, Pa.
1959 West 124, East 108 Elgin Baylor, Bob Pettit Detroit, Mich.
1958 East 130, West 118 Bob Pettit St. Louis, Mo.
1957 East 109, West 97 Bob Cousy Boston, Mass.
1956 West 108, East 94 Bob Pettit Rochester, N.Y.
1955 East 100, West 91 Bill Sharman New York, N.Y.
1954 East 98, West 93 (OT) Bob Cousy New York, N.Y.
1953 West 79, East 75 George Mikan Ft. Wayne, Ind.
1952 East 108, West 91 Paul Arizin Boston, Mass.
1951 East 111, West 94 Ed Macauley Boston, Mass.
-- -- -- --