Skip to main content

Main content


Thompson Takes Foot Locker Three-Point Contest

Klay Thompson's scorching final round too much for fellow Splash Brother, reigning champion Stephen Curry

POSTED: Feb 14, 2016 2:31 PM ET


Inside Access: 2016 Foot Locker Three-Point Contest

Klay Thompson came out on top as the 2016 Foot Locker Three-Point Contest champion.

Foot Locker Three-Point Contest
Winner: Klay Thompson, Golden State Warriors

TORONTO -- For the second straight year one of the Golden State Warriors' Splash Brothers walked off the All-Star Saturday night stage as the champion of the Foot Locker Three-Point Contest.

But it wasn't defending champion and NBA three-point king Stephen Curry. This time it was teammate Klay Thompson taking home top honors in a competition that, by the final round, looked like something the Warriors might do at the end of every practice.

Foot Locker Three-Point Contest Recap

Klay Thompson knocks off his teammate Stephen Curry to win the Foot Locker Three-Point Contest.

It marks the first time in Three-Point Contest history that different players from the same team have won it in consecutive seasons.

"Back-to-back years for Splash Brothers, it's pretty cool," Thompson said.

Thompson saved his best for last, finishing with 27 points in the final round to conquer one of the deepest fields in the history of the competition, a group that includes some of the best long-range shooters in the game today and perhaps ever.

"He definitely shot well tonight," Curry said. "I still think I can hold my own in the competition, but the way that he finished off that second round was amazing. So trust me, the pressure of knowing what number he had to hit and making five out of five was fun to watch."

Thompson Wins Foot Locker 3-Point Contest

Klay Thompson goes off for 27 points to defeat his teammate Stephen Curry in the championship round to win the Foot Locker 3-point Contest.

Curry collected 23 points in his final round, but was on his feet cheering with the rest of the contestants as Thompson drained shot after shot on his final rack. Phoenix Suns rookie Devin Booker, the youngest player in the league, finished third after netting 16 points in the final round.

The top three shooters from the preliminary round moved on to the final round, and it was a wicked competition just to advance.

Thompson was the first shooter and set the stage for the entire competition with 22 points and Curry finished off the preliminary round with 21 points, netting the final ball on his money ball rack to advance.

Three-Point Contest Postgame: Klay Thompson

Klay Thompson speaks after winning the Foot Locker Three-Point Contest.

Houston All-Star James Harden, Los Angeles Clippers sharpshooter J.J. Redick and Booker all finished 20 points in the preliminary round and faced off in a 30-second elimination round to determine who would join the Splash Brothers in the final round.

Milwaukee's Khris Middleton was the first player eliminated, managing just 13 points in the preliminary round. Portland swingman C.J. McCollum was eliminated after piling up 14 points in the preliminary round. Toronto All-Star Kyle Lowry had the hometown crowd behind him but could make it out of the preliminary round after finishing with 15 points.

-- Sekou Smith

2016 Participants

*Stephen Curry, Golden State Warriors
James Harden, Houston Rockets
Klay Thompson, Golden State Warriors
Khris Middleton, Milwaukee Bucks
Kyle Lowry, Toronto Raptors
JJ Redick, Los Angeles Clippers
CJ McCollum, Portland Trail Blazers (replaces injured Chris Bosh)
Devin Booker, Phoenix Suns
* Defending champion

Three-Point Contest Year-By-Year Winners

2016 - Klay Thompson, Golden State
2015 - Stephen Curry, Golden State
2014 - Marco Belinelli, San Antonio
2013 - Kyrie Irving, Cleveland
2012 - Kevin Love, Minnesota
2011 - James Jones, Miami
2010 - Paul Pierce, Boston
2009 - Daequan Cook, Miami
2008 - Jason Kapono, Toronto
2007 - Jason Kapono, Miami Heat
2006 - Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas
2005 - Quentin Richardson, Phoenix
2004 - Voshon Lenard, Denver
2003 - Peja Stojakovic, Sacramento
2002 - Peja Stojakovic, Sacramento
2001 - Ray Allen, Milwaukee
2000 - Jeff Hornacek, Utah
1998 - Jeff Hornacek, Utah
1997 - Steve Kerr, Chicago
1996 - Tim Legler, Washington
1995 - Glen Rice, Miami
1994 - Mark Price, Cleveland
1993 - Mark Price, Cleveland
1992 - Craig Hodges, Chicago
1991 - Craig Hodges, Chicago
1990 - Craig Hodges, Chicago
1989 - Dale Ellis, Seattle
1988 - Larry Bird, Boston
1987 - Larry Bird, Boston
1986 - Larry Bird, Boston

All Three-Point Challenge results >>
More All-Star History >>