NEW YORK, April 19 – Ron Artest of the Indiana Pacers was named the 2003-04 NBA Defensive Player of the Year, the NBA announced today.

Artest news conference: Play

Ron Artest, Defensive Player of the Year.
Ron Hoskins/NBAE/Getty Images
Artest finished third in the NBA in steals per game (2.08) as the Pacers defensive stopper this year. He successfully held his offensive targets, including some of the league’s top players, to 8.1 points per game on 9.3 shots per game and 42.6 percent shooting.

Artest received 476 points (out of a possible 605 points), including 80 of 121 possible first-place votes, from a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada. Players were awarded five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote received.

Two-time Defensive Player of the Year Ben Wallace of the Detroit Pistons (2001-02, 2002-03) finished second with 325 points and Portland’s Theo Ratliff finished third with 90 points.

Runner-up to Wallace for Defensive Player of the Year in 2002-03, Artest averaged career-bests in points (18.3), rebounds (5.3) and assists (3.7) this season. Artest sparked the Pacers to the best record in the league (61-21) by spearheading an aggressive defense that held opponents to 85.6 points per game, third best in the league.


Player, Team1st2nd3rdPts
Ron Artest, Indiana802016476
Ben Wallace, Detroit266112325
Theo Ratliff, Portland8102090
Bruce Bowen, San Antonio4102676
Andrei Kirilenko, Utah2122167
Kevin Garnett, Minnesota071536
Tim Duncan, San Antonio0158
Clifford Robinson, Golden State1005
Kenyon Martin, New Jersey0022
James Posey, Memphis0011
Kobe Bryant, L.A. Lakers0011
Shaquille O’Neal, L.A. Lakers0011
Earl Watson, Memphis0011


1982-83: Sidney Moncrief, Milwaukee
1983-84: Sidney Moncrief, Milwaukee
1984-85: Mark Eaton, Utah
1985-86: Alvin Robertson, San Antonio
1986-87: Michael Cooper, L.A. Lakers
1987-88: Michael Jordan, Chicago
1988-89: Mark Eaton, Utah
1989-90: Dennis Rodman, Detroit
1990-91: Dennis Rodman, Detroit
1991-92: David Robinson, San Antonio
1992-93: Hakeem Olajuwon, Houston
1993-94: Hakeem Olajuwon, Houston
1994-95: Dikembe Mutombo, Denver
1995-96: Gary Payton, Seattle
1996-97: Dikembe Mutombo, Atlanta
1997-98: Dikembe Mutombo, Atlanta
1998-99: Alonzo Mourning, Miami
1999-2000: Alonzo Mourning, Miami
2000-01: Dikembe Mutombo, Philadelphia
2001-02: Ben Wallace, Detroit
2002-03: Ben Wallace, Detroit
2003-04: Ron Artest, Indiana