2017 Orlando Pro Summer League
July 1 - July 6, 2017

Mountain Dew Orlando Pro Summer League Rules

Game Rules

  • Four 10-minute quarters
  • Eight-minute halftime
  • Ten-minute warm-up period prior to the start of each game
  • Teams are in the penalty on the 10th team foul or second in the last two minutes
  • Players foul out on their 10th personal foul
  • Each team will receive two full timeouts per half
  • Mandatory timeouts will be taken at the first stoppage of play after 5:59 and 2:59 of each quarter
  • A timeout taken by a team will negate the next mandatory timeout in that quarter
  • Timeouts do not carry over
  • All timeouts will be 1:45 in duration
  • Each team will also receive one advance (stop play, ability to substitute, and inbound the ball from the 28’ mark in the frontcourt) in the last two minutes of the 4th quarter and in any overtime period


  • Two-minute overtime period
  • Each team is allowed one timeout
  • Each team is allowed one advance
  • Penalty begins on the 2nd team foul
  • The second overtime period is sudden death (first team to score a point wins)

All other NBA rules apply.

Competition Format

  • Each team will play five games over the six-day event
  • Standings will be kept over the first five days of the league according to a point system (described below)
  • Every team will play their fifth and final game against the opponent seeded most closely to them in the standings
    • For example, the two teams with the highest point totals will play in the Championship game; the teams with the third and fourth-highest point totals play in a third place game, etc.

Point System

  • Standings over the first six days of the league will be kept using an EIGHT-POINT SYSTEM. In this system, eight points are awarded each game and distributed as follows:
    • Four points for winning the game -One point for every quarter a team wins (in the event of a tied quarter, both teams will receive 0.5 points)
  • As a result, the winning team in each game can collect between five to eight points, while the losing team can collect from zero to three points.

Championship Seeding Criteria

  • Championship seeding will be determined by a team’s total points in the league standings
  • In the event of a tie, the following tie-breaker steps will be in place:
    • Tiebreaker 1: Total point differential
    • Tiebreaker 2: Total points allowed
    • Tiebreaker 3: Coin flip

Note – Overall or head-to-head win/loss record will NOT impact championship day seeding. Seeding will be determined solely by the criteria above.

About The Orlando Magic

Orlando's NBA franchise since 1989, the Magic's mission is to be world champions on and off the court, delivering legendary moments every step of the way. The Magic have seen great success in a relatively short history, winning five division championships (1995, 1996, 2008, 2009, 2010) with seven 50-plus win seasons and capturing the Eastern Conference title in 1995 and 2009. Off the court, on an annual basis, the Orlando Magic gives more than $2 million to the local community by way of sponsorships of events, donated tickets, autographed merchandise and grants. Orlando Magic community relations programs impact an estimated 100,000 kids each year, while a Magic staff-wide initiative provides more than 7,000 volunteer hours annually. In addition, with major support from OMYF over the last 27 years, more than $22 million has been distributed to local nonprofit community organizations through the Orlando Magic Youth Fund, which serves at-risk youth. Ticket highlights for the Magic's 2017-18 season in the Amway Center, honored with TheStadiumBusiness Awards’ 2013 Customer Experience Award and named SportsBusiness Journal's 2012 Sports Facility of the Year, include: 2,500 seats priced $20 or less, 8,000 seats priced $40 or less and 9,000 seats priced $50 or under. For ticket information log on to www.orlandomagic.com or call 407-89-MAGIC.


  • Facebook
  • Twitter