Orlando Magic’s Alex Martins Selected as the Recipient for the 2023 Chairman’s Award of Excellence; Also Named Executive of the Year Finalist

Nine additional Magic staff members named Sporty finalists - Marchitelli, Kosky, Painter, Lambis, Duffy, Mata, Youngblood, Serio, Cervone

ORLANDO - The Greater Orlando Sports Commission (GO Sports) has unveiled the list of 67 finalists for the 2023 SPORTYS: Greater Orlando’s Night of Champions presented by Orlando Health Jewett Orthopedic Institute. The finalists were selected by a voting committee made up of members of the GO Sports board of directors. Representing 25 different organizations throughout Greater Orlando, the finalists are listed below along with the corporate partners who are sponsoring the 11 award categories.

“Alex Martins is a visionary leader and one of Central Florida’s greatest champions. His leadership in the Greater Orlando sports ecosystem has been integral to the health, wellbeing and prosperity of our community,” said Sharon Line Clary, Vice President, Strategic Marketing & Communications for AdventHealth and Chairman of the Greater Orlando Sports Commission Board of Directors. “I am delighted to name Alex as the recipient of the 2023 Chairman’s Award of Excellence.”

Past winners of the Chairman’s Award of Excellence include Chris Carmody of GrayRobinson, P.A. (2022), Jon and Betsy Hughes from Track Shack (2021), and Bud Beucher from Mission Inn Resort & Club (2020).

The 2023 SPORTYS will honor sports business professionals whose contributions and impact are vital in making Greater Orlando one of the country’s premier sports destinations. The show will air on WKMG-TV News 6 and stream online on Saturday, June 17 at 7:00 p.m. with the winners being revealed during the broadcast.

Tickets are now on sale for the watch party and industry reception that will take place the same night at the Orlando Health Fortress at Full Sail University. Registration will open at 6:00 p.m., followed by the live watch party at 7:00 p.m. and Orlando Sports IndustryReception at 8:00 p.m.

“Congratulations to all of the finalists announced today,” said Jason Siegel, President & CEO of the Greater Orlando Sports Commission. “We could not be more pleased to celebrate these tremendously talented individuals in our sports community. This year’s inclusive field of 67 finalists represents 25 different regional organizations and shows the continued growth and impact of the sports industry in Central Florida.”

2023 SPORTYS Finalists and Award Sponsors:
Finalists are listed in alphabetical order within each category.

Chairman’s Award of Excellence presented by Osceola Heritage Park
Alex Martins, Orlando Magic

Best in Media, Communications & PR presented by Dan Patrick School of Sportscasting at Full Sail University
Gabrielle Amado, Orlando City SC & Orlando Pride
Sam Gardner, Florida Citrus Sports
Tom LaDue, United States Tennis Association
Dante Marchitelli, Orlando Magic
Jackie Maynard, Orlando City SC & Orlando Pride
Bennett Newsome, Full Sail University

Best in Gameday & Team Operations presented by AdventHealth
Shannon Clark, Florida Citrus Sports
Edward Green, Andy Frain
Dr. Michael Jablonski, Orlando Health
Annie Kosky, Orlando Magic
Joe Sautter, runDisney
Jo Wallen, United States Tennis Association

Best in Venue Operations presented by Florida Citrus Sports
Julie Baca, Orlando City SC & Orlando Pride
Sade Battle, Andy Frain
Kelly Day, ESPN Wide World of Sports
David Painter, Orlando Magic
Robert Sample, UCF Athletics
Jo Wallen, United States Tennis Association

Best in Marketing presented by Berman Hopkins Wright & LaHam
Mickey Boylan, Florida Citrus Sports
Anna Donaldson, AdventHealth
Cayla Koslow, XFL Orlando Guardians
Lauren Lambis, Orlando Magic
Cavender Neutze, Arnold Palmer Invitational
Michelle Serowchak, Orlando City SC & Orlando Pride

Best in Corporate Partnerships presented by Orlando Health Jewett Orthopedic Institute
Sarah Brown, Track Shack
Chase DeMayo, XFL Orlando Guardians
Steven Duffy, Orlando Magic
Josh Mora, Full Sail University
Callum Shepherd, Orlando City SC & Orlando Pride
David Strahan, Arnold Palmer Invitational

Best in Sales presented by Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Travis Binkley, Visit Orlando
Zack Cervone, Orlando Magic
Bryan Floyd, Arnold Palmer Invitational
Stephanie Marrone, Florida Citrus Sports
Gary Mata, Orlando Magic
John Youngblood, Orlando Magic

Best in Social Responsibility presented by Withum
Lainie Fox Ackerman, Orlando Health
Steve Hogan, Florida Citrus Sports
Sari Kitelyn, Full Sail University
Chris McFarlane, UCF Athletics
Jordan Serio, Orlando Magic
Danny Trosset, Sports 4 The Kids

Sponsorship Activation of the Year presented by Mission Inn Resort & Club
Florida Citrus Sports & Cheez It – Feelin’ The Cheeziest
Orlando City SC & Orlando Health – Kicking Childhood Cancer Fantasy Camp
Orlando Magic & Mtn Dew – MTN DEW Local Artist Poster Series
Orlando Magic & AdventHealth – AdventHealth PROformance Lab
Special Olympics Florida & Orlando Health – Moments with Malcom
UCF Athletics & Orlando Health – UCF Football Space Game

Best in Business Operations presented by OUC The Reliable One
Mary Burd, Osceola Heritage Park/ASM Global
Cesar Cesareo, American Diabetes Association
Terry Donovan, UCF Athletics
Scott Herring, Florida Citrus Sports
Aurusa Moosani, Orlando City SC & Orlando Pride
Jorge Senior, ESPN Wide World of Sports

Executive of the Year presented by Visit Orlando
Martin Blackman, United States Tennis Association
Jarrod Dillon, Orlando City SC & Orlando Pride
Drew Donovan, Arnold Palmer Invitational
Kurt Esser, Seminole State College
Steve Hogan, Florida Citrus Sports
Jon Hughes, Track Shack
Robb Larson, Osceola Heritage Park/ASM Global
Alex Martins, Orlando Magic
Jo Mirza, Amateur Athletic Union
Terry Mohajir, UCF Athletics
Pennie Parker, Rollins College Athletics
Aaron Stewart, Hilton Grand Vacations
Ricardo Villar, Florida Citrus Sports/FC Series