Jameer Nelson Set to Compete in Haier Shooting Stars

February 17, 2012

Orlando Magic guard Jameer Nelson, who was an All-Star in 2009, former Magic great Dennis Scott, and Florida native and three-time WNBA All-Star Marie Ferdinand-Harris will represent Team Orlando in the Haier Shooting Stars competition on NBA All-Star Saturday Night, which will take place Feb. 25 at the Amway Center. As the 2012 host city, Team Orlando will compete against squads from Atlanta, New York and Texas.

Nelson, who is in his eighth season with the Magic, has appeared in 494 outings with Orlando, averaging 12.3 ppg. and 4.9 apg. He currently ranks seventh on the Magic’s all-time 3-point field goals made list (550), fifth on the all-time games played list (494), eighth on the all-time points list (6,085) and third on the all-time assists list (2,417).

Scott, who spent seven seasons with Orlando after the team made him the fourth overall selection of the 1990 NBA Draft, averaged 14.8 ppg. during his career with the Magic while shooting .403 from the 3-point line during his tenure (981-of-2,432). He remains Orlando’s all-time leader in 3-point field goals made, is second in 3-pont field goals attempted and is seventh on the all-time points list (6,603). Scott also holds the Magic records for most 3-point field goals made in a game (11) and in a season (267, 1995-96).

Team Atlanta, who will attempt to become the first repeat Haier Shooting Stars champion, features the Atlanta Hawks’ Joe Johnson, who was named an All-Star for the sixth time this year; Lindsay Harding of the reigning WNBA Eastern Conference champion Atlanta Dream; and NBA TV analyst Steve Smith, an All-Star selection in 1998 with the Hawks and a member of the 2003 NBA champion San Antonio Spurs.

Team New York is comprised of the New York Knicks’ Landry Fields, who will also play for Team Shaq in the BBVA Rising Stars Challenge during All-Star Weekend; the New York Liberty’s Cappie Pondexter, a four-time WNBA All-Star and one of the league’s top scorers; and former Knicks great Allan Houston, who averaged 17.3 points over his 12-year NBA career, and currently works in New York’s front office as an assistant general manager.

Team Texas is represented by the Houston Rockets’ Chandler Parsons, an Orlando-area native and second-round pick in 2011, who’s worked his way into the Rockets’ starting lineup as a rookie; the San Antonio Silver Stars’ Sophia Young, a four-time WNBA All-Star, who averaged 13.2 points and 6.4 rebounds in 2011; and TNT analyst Kenny Smith, a two-time NBA champion with the Houston Rockets (1994, 1995).

In last year’s competition, Team Atlanta, which featured Smith, the Hawks’ Al Horford and the Dream’s Coco Miller, defeated Team Texas in the final round with a time of 1:10.

Haier Shooting Stars will be televised live nationally as part of the NBA All-Star Saturday Night presented by State Farm, which will also feature the Foot Locker Three-Point Contest, Sprite Slam Dunk, and Taco Bell Skills Challenge. TNT and ESPN Radio’s national coverage will begin at 8 p.m. EST from Amway Center. The NBA All-Star Game on Sunday, Feb. 26, will air live on TNT, ESPN Radio and in more than 200 countries and will be broadcast in more than 40 languages.

The Haier Shooting Stars contest features one current NBA player, one current WNBA player and one TNT on-air talent/NBA legend on each team. There are six numbered shooting locations of increasing difficulty, with each team attempting to make all shots in numeric order in the fastest time. Each team will select a specific player rotation to follow throughout the competition. Each shot must be made before the next player begins shooting in succession. Teams have up to two minutes to complete the entire shooting course and the team that completes all six shots in the least amount of time is declared the winner. In the case of a tie, a shoot-off will be used to determine the winner.


  • Facebook
  • Twitter