Aaron Gordon Named to 2016 USA Men's Select Team

Dan Savage
Director of Digital News

June 7, 2016

ORLANDO – Orlando Magic forward Aaron Gordon has been named one of the 25 players chosen for the 2016 USA Men’s Select Team, USA Basketball announced today. The USA Men’s Select Team will train July 18-21 with the 2016 USA Basketball Men’s National Team during its training camp in Las Vegas.

Gordon appeared in 78 games (37 starts) last season for Orlando, averaging 9.2 ppg., 6.5 rpg. and 1.6 apg. in 23.9 minpg. He led (or tied) the Magic in scoring five times and in rebounding 20 times. Gordon scored in double figures 38 times and had 20+ points five times, including a career-high 22 points on Feb. 28 vs. Philadelphia and Apr. 13 @ Charlotte. He recorded 12 double-doubles.

Gordon has previous experience with USA Basketball, participating with the Junior National Team (2010-12), at the U16 Championship (2011/Gold), the U19 World Championship (2013/Gold) and the Nike Hoop Summit (2013).

“The 2016 USA Basketball Select Team continues to our tradition of featuring some of the game’s brightest and most promising young players,” said USA Basketball National Team Managing Director Jerry Colangelo. “Participation in this camp provides them with valuable experience at the USA Basketball National Team level, while helping prepare the 2016 USA National Team for its upcoming international competition. For many of the Select Team players, this is a continuation of their USA Basketball experiences and for others it is an introduction into our pipeline.”

“Being chosen for the Select Team is an honor and it is an important step in becoming involved in USA Basketball’s National Team program in the future,” continued Colangelo. “Current national team players like Kevin Durant, Kyrie Irving, Klay Thompson, Kevin Love, Russell Westbrook, as well as many other outstanding players, got their USA National Team start through a Select Team.”

In addition to Gordon, the other players chosen for the 2016 USA Basketball Select Team were: Malcolm Brogdon (University of Virginia); Devin Booker (Phoenix Suns); Kentavious Caldwell-Pope (Detroit Pistons); Willie Cauley-Stein (Sacramento Kings); Kris Dunn (Providence College); Jerami Grant (Philadelphia 76ers); Gary Harris (Denver Nuggets); Rodney Hood (Utah Jazz); Brandon Ingram (Duke University); Brice Johnson (University of North Carolina); Stanley Johnson (Detroit Pistons); Zach LaVine (Minnesota Timberwolves); CJ McCollum (Portland Trail Blazers); Doug McDermott (Chicago Bulls); Emmanuel Mudiay (Denver Nuggets); Jahlil Okafor (Philadelphia 76ers); Jabari Parker (Milwaukee Bucks); Julius Randle (Los Angeles Lakers); D’Angelo Russell; (Los Angeles Lakers); Marcus Smart (Boston Celtics); Myles Turner (Indiana Pacers); Denzel Valentine (Michigan State University); Justise Winslow (Miami Heat) and Cody Zeller (Charlotte Hornets).

San Antonio Spurs Head Coach Gregg Popovich, who was named head coach of the USA Men’s National Team for the 2017-20 period on Oct. 23, 2015, will oversee the Select Team, while Spurs Assistant Coach Ime Udoka and Villanova University Head Coach Jay Wright will serve as assistant coaches.