Kobe Bryant and Pau Gasol Named to All-NBA Teams

NEW YORK – Derrick Rose of the Chicago Bulls, the 2010-11 NBA Most Valuable Player, and LeBron James of the Miami Heat, winner of the
two previous MVP awards, highlight the 2010-11 All-NBA First Team. James
was the lone unanimous choice, receiving all 119 first-place votes. Joining
James and Rose on the First Team are Kobe Bryant of the Los Angeles Lakers,
Kevin Durant of the Oklahoma City Thunder and Dwight Howard of the Orlando

Earning his first All-NBA team selection, Rose led the Bulls to an NBA-best
62-20 mark. He averaged team highs of 25.0 points and 7.7 assists to go
along with 4.1 rebounds, becoming only the seventh player in NBA history to
average at least 25.0 points, 7.5 assists and 4.0 rebounds. Rose was the
only player in the NBA to rank in the top 10 in scoring (seventh) and
assists (10th).

James, who earns First Team honors for the fourth straight season and fifth
time overall, was second in the NBA in scoring (26.7 ppg), and averaged
team highs in assists (7.0 apg) and steals (1.57 spg) to go along with 7.5
rpg. James became the first player in history to surpass the 2,000-point,
500-rebound, 500-assist and 100-steal marks in four consecutive seasons.

Howard, an All-NBA First Team selection for the fourth consecutive season,
earned the 2010-11 Kia NBA Defensive Player of the Year Award, becoming the
first player to win the award three straight seasons. He led the league
with 66 double-doubles, while ranking second in rebounds (14.1 rpg) and
fourth in blocks (2.38 bpg). Howard also averaged a career-high 22.9

Bryant, an All-NBA First Team selection for the sixth straight season and
ninth time in his career, finished fifth in the league in scoring (25.3
ppg), while averaging 5.1 rebounds and 4.7 assists. Among active players,
Bryant is tied with the San Antonio Spurs’ Tim Duncan for most First Team

Durant earns his second All-NBA First Team selection. Durant led the league
in scoring (27.7 ppg) for the second consecutive year, to go along with 6.8
rebounds and 2.7 assists. Durant scored at least 40 in a league-high five
games this season.

The All-NBA Second Team consists of guards Dwyane Wade of the Miami Heat
and Russell Westbrook of the Oklahoma City Thunder, forwards Pau Gasol of
the Los Angeles Lakers
and Dirk Nowitzki of the Dallas Mavericks, and
center Amar’e Stoudemire of the New York Knicks.

The All-NBA Third Team includes the San Antonio Spurs’ Manu Ginobili and
the New Orleans Hornets’ Chris Paul at guard, the Portland Trail Blazers’
LaMarcus Aldridge and the Memphis Grizzlies’ Zach Randolph at forward, and
the Atlanta Hawks’ Al Horford at center.

The All-NBA Teams were chosen by a panel of 119 sportswriters and
broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada. The media voted for
All-NBA First, Second and Third Teams by position with points awarded on a
5-3-1 basis.

Below are the results of the voting for the 2010-11 All-NBA Teams, with
First Team votes in parentheses:


Position Player, Team (1st Team Votes) Points
Forward LeBron James, Miami (119) 595
Forward Kevin Durant, Oklahoma City (69) 492
Center Dwight Howard, Orlando (118) 593
Guard Kobe Bryant, L.A. Lakers (98) 551
Guard Derrick Rose, Chicago (118) 593


Position Player, Team (1st Team Votes) Points
Forward Pau Gasol, L.A. Lakers (2) 259
Forward Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas (47) 437
Center Amar’e Stoudemire, New York (2) 258
Guard Dwyane Wade, Miami (24) 392
Guard Russell Westbrook, Oklahoma City 184


Position Player, Team (1st Team Votes) Points
Forward LaMarcus Aldridge, Portland 135
Forward Zach Randolph, Memphis 67
Center Al Horford, Atlanta 62
Guard Manu Ginobili, San Antonio 106 Guard
Chris Paul, New Orleans 157

Other players receiving votes, with point totals (first team votes in
parentheses): Rajon Rondo, Boston, 68; Paul Pierce, Boston, 55; Carmelo
Anthony, Denver-New York, 53; Kevin Love, Minnesota, 48; Tim Duncan, San
Antonio, 43; Blake Griffin, L.A. Clippers, 36; Tony Parker, San Antonio,
27; Kevin Garnett, Boston, 22; Deron Williams, Utah-New Jersey 19; Steve
Nash, Phoenix, 17; Andrew Bogut, Milwaukee, 13; Monta Ellis, Golden State,
11; Nene, Denver, 11; Andrew Bynum, L.A. Lakers, 9; Kevin Martin, Houston,
7; Tyson Chandler, Dallas, 7; Joakim Noah, Chicago, 5; Marc Gasol,
Memphis, 3; Al Jefferson, Utah, 3; Kendrick Perkins, Boston-Oklahoma City,
3; Andrea Bargnani, Toronto, 2; Chris Bosh, Miami, 2; Andre Iguodala,
Philadelphia, 1; Emeka Okafor, New Orleans, 1; Eric Gordon, L.A. Clippers,
1; Gerald Wallace, Charlotte-Portland, 1; Jason Kidd, Dallas, 1; Luis
Scola, Houston, 1; Luol Deng, Chicago, 1; Ray Allen, Boston, 1

Recent Stories on Lakers.com

Recent Videos

Related Content


  • Facebook
  • Twitter