Vlade Inducted into FIBA Hall of Fame


GENEVA (FIBA Hall of Fame) - A total of 17 outstanding basketball personalities from 12 different countries will be inducted into the FIBA Hall of Fame on September 12th during the 2010 FIBA World Championship in Istanbul, Turkey, FIBA announced on Friday, including former Kings’ center Vlade Divac.

National icons Oscar Schmidt from Brazil, Arvydas Sabonis from Lithuania, Dino Meneghin from Italy, Divac and Dragan Kicanovic from Serbia are among the inductees for the 2010 Class of the FIBA Hall of Fame. Two of the best female players of all time, Cheryl Miller from the USA and Natalia Zassoulskaya from Russia, complete the list of players. A combined 14 Olympic medals and 15 FIBA World Championship medals underline the prominence of the seven players and three coaches inducted.

The selected referees and contributors were at the top of the game for decades and belong to the most decorated in their field. “The 2010 Class has stardom, character and countless merits for the promotion of our game,” said FIBA President Bob Elphinston. “The inductees were and still are brilliant on and off the court. We are very proud to host the 2010 ceremony in the presence of all these great women and men during the FIBA World Championship and give them the public platform they deserve.”

Here is the full list of the 2010 FIBA Hall of Fame Class.

Divac, Vlade (Serbia)
Kicanovic, Dragan (Serbia)
Meneghin, Dino (Italy)
Miller, Cheryl (USA)
Sabonis, Arvydas (Lithuania)
Schmidt, Oscar (Brazil)
Zassoulskaya, Natalia (Russia)

Gaze, Lindsay (Australia)
Gomelsky, Evgeny (Russia)
Novosel, Mirko (Croatia)

Bain, Jim (USA)
Dimou, Konstantinos (Greece)

Killian, George (USA)
Otto, Hans-Joachim (Germany)
Segura de Luna, Ernesto (Spain) (posthumously)
Seye Moreau, Abdoulaye (Senegal)
Ramsay, Al (Australia)*

* Al Ramsay was selected for the 2009 Class, but will officially be enshrined in 2010.

The complete profiles of the 2010 FIBA Hall of Fame inductees can be found on www.halloffame.fiba.com.

The enshrinement ceremony for the 2010 Class of the FIBA Hall of Fame will take place on 12th September at the Swissôtel in Istanbul and during an on-court presentation at the Final of the FIBA World Championship at the Sinan Erdem Dome on the same day. All inductees will be present. A media availability session will be organised in the afternoon of 12th September.

About the FIBA Hall of Fame

The primary goal of the FIBA Hall of Fame is to reflect the history of the sport and its protagonists. The key criterion for selection into the FIBA Hall of Fame is outstanding achievement, at the international level, to the development and status of the sport of basketball.

The FIBA Hall of Fame was officially inaugurated on 1st March 2007. The FIBA Hall of Fame, built with the help of the city of Alcobendas (Madrid, Spain) and upon initiative of Mr. Pedro Ferrándiz, legendary coach of Real Madrid, founder and president of the Foundation that carries his name and member of the 2009 Class of the FIBA Hall of Fame, is a five-floor building that covers 2.000 square meters.

On 12th September 2007, the first class was inducted and included such famous names as Mr. Bill RUSSELL (USA), Mr. Nikos GALIS (Greece), Ms. Hortência MARCARI (Brazil) and Ms. Uljana SEMJONOVA (Latvia).

On 22nd September 2009, the second class was inducted and included basketball celebrities such as 1960 Olympic Gold medal winners Oscar ROBERTSON and coach Pete NEWELL from the USA, and the captain of the first FIBA World Champion, Mr. Ricardo GONZÁLEZ from Argentina.

For the complete list of posthumous inductees into the FIBA Hall of Fame, please visit: www.halloffame.fiba.com.


  • Facebook
  • Twitter