DeMarcus Cousins Named to 2015 NBA All-Star Team


SACRAMENTO, Calif. - Sacramento Kings center DeMarcus Cousins was named by NBA Commissioner Adam Silver to replace injured Western Conference All-Star Kobe Bryant of the Los Angeles Lakers, it was announced today by the NBA. Cousins’ selection marks the first time a Kings player will participate in an All-Star game since Brad Miller and Peja Stojakovic represented Sacramento in 2004. He will become the sixth player during the Sac-era, and 23rd in franchise history to represent the Kings in the All-Star Game.

“I’m extremely excited to play in my first All-Star game,” said Cousins. “I appreciate the recognition and want to also thank my teammates and the fans for their support throughout the season. Representing the Kings and the city of Sacramento is a great honor.”

“Everyone in the Kings organization is thrilled for DeMarcus and happy that his diligence and commitment to becoming the best player he can be has been recognized,” said Kings General Manager Pete D’Alessandro.

“This honor is a result of the hard work and determination DeMarcus has shown throughout the season,” said Kings Head Coach Tyrone Corbin. “He dedicated himself to improving those talents that make him a special player and he is demonstrating every night how unique an athlete he is in this league.”

In his fifth NBA campaign, Cousins is averaging 23.8 points (.481 FG%, .806 FT%), 12.3 rebounds, 3.2 assists, 1.38 steals, 1.63 blocks and 33.8 minutes per game in 32 contests, leading the Kings in scoring, rebounding, and blocks. He was named the Western Conference Player of the Week for games played Nov. 17-23 after registering 25.7 points (.577 FG%, .773 FT%), 16.3 rebounds, 3.0 assists and 1.71 blocks per game in leading Sacramento to a 2-1 week. Cousins appears among NBA leaders in several categories ranking fourth in double-doubles (26), fifth in scoring and third in rebounding.

Sacramento Kings All-Star Game Participants

1993 – Mitch Richmond

1994 – Mitch Richmond*

1995 – Mitch Richmond (MVP)

1996 – Mitch Richmond

1997 – Mitch Richmond

1998 – Mitch Richmond

2000 – Chris Webber

2001 – Vlade Divac, Chris Webber

2002 – Peja Stojakovic, Chris Webber

2003 – Peja Stojakovic Chris Webber+

2004 – Brad Miller, Peja Stojakovic                    

2015 – DeMarcus Cousins

* Started that year’s game

+ Named, but did not play due to injury 


  • Facebook
  • Twitter