Horizontal Timeline
  1. 1923

    Les Harrison organizes and plays for the semi-pro Rochester Seagrams sponsored by a local distillery.

  2. 1930

    Harrison operates and coaches the Rochester Seagrams.

  3. 1940

    Rochester Seagrams compete in the Chicago World Professional Basketball Tournament.

  4. 1941

    Rochester again is invited to the Chicago World Professional Basketball Tournament.

  5. 1942

    Rochester Seagrams become the Rochester Eber Seagrams.

  6. 1943

    Harrison renames team the Rochester Pros.

  7. 1945

    Harrison and his brother join the National Basketball League (NBL) as a sponsor.

  8. 1945

    Named the Royals after 15-year-old Richard Paeth wins essay contest to name team.

  9. 1945

    Bob Davies is signed by Les Harrison.

  10. 1946

    Harrison signs William "Dolly" King and William "Pop" Gates becoming one of the first to integrate basketball - a year before Jackie Robinson makes his Brooklyn Dodgers debut.

  11. 1946

    Royals sweep Sheboygan to win the NBL Championship.

  12. 1947

    Royals Win Division title.

  13. 1947

    Davies named NBL MVP.

  14. 1948

    Royals repeat as division champions.

  15. 1948

    Harrison's Royals leave the NBL for the Basketball Athletic Association (BAA).

  16. 1949

    NBL merges with BAA to form the National Basketball Association (NBA).

  17. 1951

    Royals Crowned NBA Champions.

  18. 1955

    Royals move into the Rochester War Memorial.

  19. 1955

    Royals select Maurice Stokes 2nd overall.

  20. 1955

    Royals make Jack Twyman the 8th selection in Draft.

  21. 1956

    Maurice Stokes wins Rookie of the Year honors.

  22. 1957

    Team moves to Cincinnati and becomes the Cincinnati Royals.

  23. 1957

    Stokes breaks the NBA single-season record for most rebounds with 1,256.

  24. 1958

    Team becomes a public corporation.

  25. 1958

    Stokes suffers severe head injury.

  26. 1960

    Twyman becomes first NBA player to average over 30 points per game (31.2 ppg).

  27. 1960

    Royals make Oscar Robertson 1st pick in Draft.

  28. 1961

    Oscar Robertson wins NBA All-Star MVP.

  29. 1962

    Robertson becomes only player to average a triple-double for entire season.

  30. 1966

    Royals purchased by brothers Max and Jeremy Jacobs.

  31. 1970

    Royals Draft Nate "Tiny" Archibald.

  32. 1970

    Royals select Sam Lacey.

  33. 1972

    Team moves to Kansas City and becomes the Kansas City - Omaha Kings (since Royals was already used by the area's Major League Baseball team, franchise changes nickname but sticks with "royal" theme).

  34. 1972

    Archibald becomes only player to lead NBA in points and assists, averaging 34 and 11.4, respectively.

  35. 1980

    Royals founder Harrison enshrined in Hall of Fame.

  36. 1983

    Jack Twyman enshrined in Hall of Fame.

  37. Jun. 8, 1983

    Kings purchased for approximately $10.5 million by a local business group responsible for bringing the Kings to Sacramento: Joseph Benvenuti, Frank and Gregg Lukenbill, Bob A. Cook, Frank McCormick and Stephen H. Cippa.

  38. Jan. 1985

    Group petitioned NBA Board of Governors to move team to Sacramento, nine months later Kansas City Kings becomes Sacramento Kings.

  39. Oct. 25, 1985

    L.A. Clippers defeat Kings 108-104 before a sold-out crowd of 10,333 at ARCO Arena in the first regular season professional basketball game played in Sacramento.

  40. 1991

    Kings trade rights to Billy Owens for Mitch Richmond and Les Jepsen.

  41. 1991

    Archibald enshrined in Hall of Fame.

  42. Apr. 6, 1992

    Jim Thomas takes ownership of team.

  43. May. 22, 1994

    Kings reveal franchise's new primary logo, home and road uniforms and team colors.

  44. 1995

    Richmond voted MVP of All-Star Game.

  45. 1998

    Kings send Richmond and Otis Thorpe to Washington for Chris Webber.

  46. 1998

    Kings sign free agent Vlade Divac.

  47. Jan. 15, 1999

    Maloofs purchase controlling interest, effective July 1, 1999.

  48. 2002

    Kings win Pacific Division title.

  49. 2003

    Kings win Pacific Division title again.

  50. 2004

    Stokes enshrined in Hall of Fame.