Jazz GM Kevin O’Connor Named to NBA’s New Competition Committee

by Bill Lea

NEW YORK (May 16, 2012) – The NBA announced today that Utah Jazz general manager Kevin O’Connor has been named as a member of the league's new Competition Committee. Last month, the league's Board of Governors voted to change the composition of the Committee to include two owners, four general managers, three head coaches and one representative from the National Basketball Players Association (NBPA).

Previously, the Committee included the general manager from each of the 30 teams. That Committee has been reconstituted as the new General Managers Committee.

The 2011-12 season marked O’Connor’s 13th overseeing all aspects of the Jazz’s basketball operations, making him the second-longest tenured general manager in the NBA behind only Geoff Petrie of the Sacramento Kings (17 seasons). Since O’Connor’s arrival in Salt Lake City in 1999, the Jazz has compiled a record of 589-461 (.561), finishing with a .500-or-better record in 11 of 13 seasons and advancing to the playoffs nine times while winning three division titles.

The other members of the new Competition Committee are owners Dan Gilbert (Cleveland Cavaliers) and Joe Lacob (Golden State); general managers Bryan Colangelo (Toronto Raptors), Mitch Kupchak (L.A. Lakers) and Sam Presti (Oklahoma City); and coaches Rick Carlisle (Dallas Mavericks), Lionel Hollins (Memphis Grizzlies) and Doc Rivers (Boston Celtics). The NBPA will designate one of its members to serve on the Committee.

As is the case currently, if the Competition Committee votes in favor of changing a playing rule or any other competition-related matter, the recommendation will be brought to the Board of Governors for its consideration and vote. The Committee will meet on a regular basis and its first meeting will take place during the Finals.

The new General Managers Committee will meet annually to discuss the state of the game and various competition matters.