Hornets Select Frank Kaminsky with No. 9 Pick in 2015 NBA Draft

June 25, 2015 – The Charlotte Hornets tonight selected forward/center Frank Kaminsky with the ninth overall pick in the first round of the 2015 NBA Draft.  The Hornets also selected forward Juan Vaulet with the 39th overall pick before trading his rights to the Brooklyn Nets in exchange for a conditional 2018 second-round draft pick, a 2019 second-round draft pick and cash considerations.

“We’re excited to add Frank Kaminsky to our team,” Cho said.  “He is a skilled and versatile big man who is a very solid outside shooter and can spread the floor for his teammates.” 

The 7-0 Kaminsky was the Consensus National Player of the Year in 2015 as a senior at the University of Wisconsin.  His postseason honors included the John R. Wooden Award, Naismith Trophy, Oscar Robertson Trophy and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award, as well as AP and Sporting News National Player of the Year.  He was also named First Team All-American by the AP, NABC, USBWA and Sporting News following a season in which he led Wisconsin to a second straight Final Four and an appearance in the national championship game. 

The Big Ten Player of the Year, Kaminsky averaged 18.8 points, 8.2 rebounds, 2.6 assists and 1.5 blocks in 33.6 minutes per game as a senior, while shooting .547 from the field (267-488), .416 from beyond the three-point line (42-101) and .780 from the free-throw line (156-200).  He ranked second in the conference in rebounding, third in scoring, third in field goal percentage and seventh in three-point percentage.

Kaminsky finished his Wisconsin career as the school’s career leader in blocks with 153, and became just the second player in Badgers history to post 1,000 points, 500 rebounds and 100 blocks.  As a junior, he averaged team highs of 13.9 points, 6.3 rebounds and 1.7 blocks, ranking second in the Big Ten in field goal percentage (.528), sixth in blocks, eighth in rebounding and 12th in scoring en route to First Team All-Big Ten honors.  He also earned the NCAA West Region Most Outstanding Player award after leading Wisconsin to the Final Four.