Click here to Skip to main content

NBA Rookie of the Year Award Winners

Posted Feb 26 2013 12:02PM

A year by year list of the NBA's Rookie of the Year award winners:

Year Player(s) Team
2011-12 Kyrie Irving Cleveland Cavaliers
2010-11 Blake Griffin Los Angeles Clippers
2009-10 Tyreke Evans Sacramento Kings
2008-09 Derrick Rose Chicago Bulls
2007-08 Kevin Durant Seattle SuperSonics
2006-07 Brandon Roy Portland Trail Blazers
2005-06 Chris Paul New Orleans/Oklahoma City Hornets
2004-05 Emeka Okafor Charlotte Bobcats
2003-04 LeBron James Cleveland Cavaliers
2002-03 Amar'e Stoudemire Phoenix Suns
2001-02 Pau Gasol Memphis Grizzlies
2000-01 Mike Miller Orlando Magic
1999-00 Steve Francis, Elton Brand Houston Rockets, Chicago Bulls
1998-99 Vince Carter Toronto Raptors
1997-98 Tim Duncan San Antonio Spurs
1996-97 Allen Iverson Philadelphia 76ers
1995-96 Damon Stoudamire Toronto Raptors
1994-95 Jason Kidd, Grant Hill Dallas Mavericks, Detroit Pistons
1993-94 Chris Webber Golden State Warriors
1992-93 Shaquille O'Neal Orlando Magic
1991-92 Larry Johnson Charlotte Hornets
1990-91 Derrick Coleman New Jersey Nets
1989-90 David Robinson San Antonio Spurs
1988-89 Mitch Richmond Golden State Warriors
1987-88 Mark Jackson New York Knicks
1986-87 Chuck Person Indiana Pacers
1985-86 Patrick Ewing New York Knicks
1984-85 Michael Jordan Chicago Bulls
1983-84 Ralph Sampson Houston Rockets
1982-83 Terry Cummings San Diego Clippers
1981-82 Buck Williams New Jersey Nets
1980-81 Darrell Griffith Utah Jazz
1979-80 Larry Bird Boston Celtics
1978-79 Phil Ford Kansas City Kings
1977-78 Walter Davis Phoenix Suns
1976-77 Adrian Dantley Buffalo Braves
1975-76 Alvan Adams Phoenix Suns
1974-75 Jamaal Wilkes Golden State Warriors
1973-74 Ernie DiGregorio Buffalo Braves
1972-73 Bob McAdoo Buffalo Braves
1971-72 Sidney Wicks Portland Trail Blazers
1970-71 Geoff Petrie, Dave Cowens Portland Trail Blazers, Boston Celtics
1969-70 Lew Alcindor Milwaukee Bucks
1968-69 Wes Unseld Baltimore Bullets
1967-68 Earl Monroe Baltimore Bullets
1966-67 Dave Bing Detroit Pistons
1965-66 Rick Barry San Francisco Warriors
1964-65 Willis Reed New York Knicks
1963-64 Jerry Lucas Cincinnati Royals
1962-63 Terry Dischinger Chicago Zephyrs
1961-62 Walt Bellamy Chicago Packers
1960-61 Oscar Robertson Cincinnati Royals
1959-60 Wilt Chamberlain Philadelphia Warriors
1958-59 Elgin Baylor Minneapolis Lakers
1957-58 Woody Sauldsberry Philadelphia Warriors
1956-57 Tom Heinsohn Boston Celtics
1955-56 Maurice Stokes Rochester Royals
1954-55 Bob Pettit Milwaukee Hawks
1953-54 Ray Felix Baltimore Bullets
1952-53 Don Meineke Fort Wayne Pistons
photoWalker will Wear No. 8
Kemba Walker came to the Celtics to compete every night, play with the young talent and make the playoffs.
photo2019 Summer League Top 10
Check out the Top 10 plays from Summer League in Las Vegas.
photoGAME RECAP: Grizzlies 95, Timberwolves 92
Brandon Clarke notches 15 points and 16 rebounds as Memphis drops Minnesota to win the 2019 NBA Summer League Championship.
photo2019 Summer League Sizzle
Check out the best moments from a memorable Summer League in Las Vegas.
photoFirst Team All Summer League
Ro Parrish and Wes Wilcox discuss the players who stood out the most during summer League.

Copyright © NBA Media Ventures, LLC. All rights reserved. No portion of may be duplicated, redistributed or manipulated in any form. By accessing any information beyond this page, you agree to abide by the Privacy Policy / Your California Privacy Rights and Terms of Use. | Ad Choices Ad Choices is part of Turner Sports Digital, part of the Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network.