NBA Defensive Player of the Year Award Winners

NBA History: Awards

A year-by-year list of the Kia Defensive Player of the Year Award winners:

YEAR           PLAYER                   TEAM
2019-20     Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee Bucks (Voting)
2018-19     Rudy Gobert, Utah Jazz (Voting)
2017-18     Rudy Gobert, Utah Jazz (Voting)
2016-17     Draymond Green, Golden State Warriors (Voting)
2015-16     Kawhi Leonard, San Antonio Spurs (Voting)
2014-15     Kawhi Leonard, San Antonio Spurs
2013-14     Joakim Noah, Chicago Bulls
2012-13     Marc Gasol, Memphis Grizzlies
2011-12     Tyson Chandler, New York Knicks
2010-11     Dwight Howard, Orlando Magic
2009-10     Dwight Howard, Orlando Magic
2008-09     Dwight Howard, Orlando Magic
2007-08     Kevin Garnett, Boston Celtics
2006-07     Marcus Camby, Denver Nuggets
2005-06     Ben Wallace, Detroit Pistons
2004-05     Ben Wallace, Detroit Pistons
2003-04     Ron Artest, Indiana Pacers
2002-03     Ben Wallace, Detroit Pistons
2001-02     Ben Wallace, Detroit Pistons
2000-01     Dikembe Mutombo, Philadelphia 76ers
1999-00     Alonzo Mourning, Miami Heat
1998-99     Alonzo Mourning, Miami Heat
1997-98     Dikembe Mutombo, Atlanta Hawks
1996-97     Dikembe Mutombo, Atlanta Hawks
1995-96     Gary Payton, Seattle SuperSonics
1994-95     Dikembe Mutombo, Denver Nuggets
1993-94     Hakeem Olajuwon, Houston Rockets
1992-93     Hakeem Olajuwon, Houston Rockets
1991-92     David Robinson, San Antonio Spurs
1990-91     Dennis Rodman, Detroit Pistons
1989-90     Dennis Rodman, Detroit Pistons
1988-89     Mark Eaton, Utah Jazz
1987-88     Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls
1986-87     Michael Cooper, Los Angeles Lakers
1985-86     Alvin Robertson, San Antonio Spurs
1984-85     Mark Eaton, Utah Jazz
1983-84     Sidney Moncrief, Milwaukee Bucks
1982-83     Sidney Moncrief, Milwaukee Bucks

Copyright © 2020 NBA Media Ventures, LLC. All rights reserved.

If you are having difficulty accessing any content on this website, please visit our Accessibility page.

Privacy Policy | Accessibility and Closed Caption | Terms of Use |
Do Not Sell My Personal Information is part of Turner Sports Digital, part of the Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network.

Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. A Time Warner Company.