Related Content

LeBron James Named to NBA All-Defensive Second Team

by Couper Moorhead

MIAMI, June 6 – The NBA announced today that Miami HEAT forward LeBron James has been named to the 2013-14 NBA All-Defensive Second Team. This marks the sixth time James has earned NBA All-Defensive Team honors, including five First Team honors from 2008-2013. It also marks James’ fourth All-Defensive Team honor as a member of the HEAT, the most in franchise history. James tallied 134 points, finishing with 57 First Team votes, tying the fourth-most in the league, and 20 Second Team votes. The voting panel consisted of 123 writers and broadcasters with two points awarded for a First Team vote and one point awarded for a Second Team vote.

Joining James on the NBA All-Defensive Second Team is Houston guard Patrick Beverly, Chicago guard Jimmy Butler, San Antonio forward Kawhi Leonard and Indiana center Roy Hibbert. Earning NBA All-Defensive First Team honors are Chicago center Joakim Noah, Indiana forward Paul George, L.A. Clippers guard Chris Paul, Oklahoma City forward Serge Ibaka and Golden State guard/forward Andre Iguodala.

James finished tied for 14th in total steals (121) in the NBA and 18th in steals per game (1.57). He led the HEAT in steals, total rebounds (533), defensive rebounds (452) and finished third in offensive rebounds (81). His defensive efforts helped Miami place second in steals per game (8.93), second in forced turnovers per game (16.7), tied for fourth in point differential (+4.8) and fifth in points allowed per game (97.4). He led the HEAT in steals a team-high 29 times and recorded a season-high six steals at New York on February 1 and a season-high 14 rebounds on two separate occasions.

Other players receiving votes, with point totals (First Team votes in parentheses): DeAndre Jordan, L.A. Clippers 63 (14); Anthony Davis, New Orleans, 62 (18); Tony Allen, Memphis, 60 (17); Tim Duncan, San Antonio, 45 (12); Dwight Howard, Houston, 26 (6); Taj Gibson, Chicago, 21 (2); Mike Conley, Memphis, 21 (5); Ricky Rubio, Minnesota, 19 (5); Lance Stephenson, Indiana, 14 (3); P.J. Tucker, Phoenix, 13 (2); Kevin Durant, Oklahoma City, 10 (2); Kyle Lowry, Toronto, 10 (3); Eric Bledsoe, Phoenix, 9 (1); Marc Gasol, Memphis, 8; John Wall, Washington, 8 (1); Thabo Sefolosha, Oklahoma City, 8 (1); Kirk Hinrich, Chicago, 7 (2); Trevor Ariza, Washington, 5 (2); Avery Bradley, Boston, 5 (1); Russell Westbrook, Oklahoma City, 5 (1); Klay Thompson, Golden State, 5; Andrew Bogut, Golden State, 4; Chris Bosh, Miami, 4 (1); Luol Deng, Cleveland, 4 (1); Wesley Matthews, Portland, 4 (1); Tony Parker, San Antonio, 4 (1); Nicolas Batum, Portland, 3 (1); Stephen Curry, Golden State, 3 (1); Danny Green, San Antonio, 3 (1); Michael Kidd-Gilchrist, Charlotte, 3; Shaun Livingston, Brooklyn, 3 (1); Victor Oladipo, Orlando, 3 (1); DeMarre Carroll, Atlanta, 2; Matt Barnes, L.A. Clippers, 2 (1); James Harden, Houston, 2; George Hill, Indiana, 2; Jeff Teague, Atlanta, 2; Dwyane Wade, Miami, 2 (1); Kemba Walker, Charlotte, 2; David West, Indiana, 2; Arron Afflalo, Orlando, 1; Corey Brewer, Minnesota, 1; Michael Carter-Williams, Philadelphia,1; Darren Collison, L.A. Clippers, 1; DeMar DeRozan, Toronto, 1; Andre Drummond, Detroit, 1; Monta Ellis, Dallas, 1; Danny Granger, L.A. Clippers, 1; Draymond Green, Golden State, 1; Reggie Jackson, Oklahoma City, 1; David Lee, Golden State, 1; Paul Millsap, Atlanta, 1; Rajon Rondo, Boston, 1.