Jones and Chalmers to Participate in NBA All-Star Three-Point Shootout

Jones and Chalmers to Participate in NBA All-Star Three-Point Shootout

MIAMI, February 15th – The NBA announced today that the 2011 NBA Three-Point Champion, HEAT forward James Jones, and HEAT guard Mario Chalmers will participate in the Foot Locker Three-Point Shootout at the 2012 NBA All-Star Saturday Night event in Orlando at the Amway Center on February 25.

Jones, the reigning 2011 NBA Three-Point Shootout Champion, became the fourth HEAT player to win the contest, joining Cook (2009), Kapono (2007) and Rice (1995). In the 2011 contest, Jones scored 16 first round points to advance to the second and final round. Jones shot first in the final round, scoring 20 points as he out-shot the rest of the field to capture the 2011 title.

Chalmers, who currently ranks sixth in NBA three-point accuracy at 46.3 percent, will become the sixth HEAT player to be represented in the event, joining James Jones (2011), Daequan Cook (2009 & 2010), Jason Kapono (2007), Glen Rice (1991 & 1995) and Jon Sundvold (1989 & 1990). Chalmers has currently connected on a team-high 57 three-point field goals this season, tied for the seventh-most in the league.

Players will compete in a two-round competition with the top three finishers from the first round advancing to the finals. Five shooting stations will be set up around the three-point line, with four orange balls worth one point each and one multi-colored ball (money ball) worth two points at each location. Each player will have one minute to shoot as many balls as he can. In the final round, players will shoot in ascending order of first round scores. At the discretion of the referee, television instant replay may be consulted for clarification of rules compliance.

Other invitees joining Jones and Chalmers include Ryan Anderson, Joe Johnson, Kevin Love and Anthony Morrow.

The Miami HEAT is proud to have ASSIST-CARD as the Presenting Sponsor for the 2011-12 season.


  • Facebook
  • Twitter