Skip to main content

Main content
New York Knicks Team Overview
2012-13 record: 54-28
First place, Atlantic Division
Lost in conference semifinals to Indiana Pacers

Pre-Draft Analysis

Areas of Strength
A potent offense. Mike Woodson built the third best offense in the league around Carmelo Anthony, embracing small ball and encouraging his team to let it fly from beyond the arc. Anthony made smarter and quicker decisions with the ball, J.R. Smith became a more reliable second scorer, and Raymond Felton mixed things up with dribble penetration.

Needs Work
Defense. As they improved offensively, the Knicks took a step backward on the other end of the floor. Tyson Chandler wasn't as much of a factor defensively as he was the year before, and the Knicks just didn't have enough two-way players to win with defense when the shots weren't falling, as was the case in the Eastern Conference semifinals.

Two Stats That Matter
13.1 -- The Knicks committed just 13.1 turnovers per 100 possessions, the lowest rate in the league.

52.7 -- The Knicks assisted on just 52.7 percent of their field goals, the lowest rate in the league.

The Way To Go
The Knicks have two more years with Anthony, Chandler and Amar'e Stoudemire on the books for about $60 million per year. So they have little flexibility in trying to fine tune their supporting cast. Smith proved in the playoffs that he still can't be relied upon, but his scoring would be difficult to replace if the Knicks decide to let him go. The No. 24 pick isn't likely to help them this year or, in a trade, bring back someone else who can.

2012-13 Team Stats (points per 100 possessions, with NBA rank)
Offensive: 108.6 (3)
Defensive: 103.5 (17)

Under Contract
F: Carmelo Anthony
C/F: Marcus Camby
C: Tyson Chandler
G: Raymond Felton
G: Jason Kidd
F: Steve Novak
F/G: Iman Shumpert
F/C: Amar'e Stoudemire
G/F: James White

Free Agents
F: Chris Copeland (restricted)
F: Kenyon Martin
G: Pablo Prigioni (restricted)
F: Quentin Richardson
G: J.R. Smith

Recent Draft History
2012: Kostas Papanikolaou (48)
2011: Iman Shumpert (17)
2010: Andre Rautins (38), Landry Fields (39)
2009: Jordan Hill (8)
2008: Danilo Galinari (6)
2007: Wilson Chandler (23)
2006: Renaldo Balkman (20), Mardy Collins (29)

-- John Schuhmann