Eric Gordon Named to Sophomore Team for 2010 T-Mobile Rookie Challenge & Youth Jam

For Immediate Release
Los Angeles Clippers guard Eric Gordon has been selected to the Sophomore team for the 2010 T-Mobile Rookie Challenge & Youth Jam to be held on Friday, Feb. 12 in Dallas during the NBA All-Star 2010.

Gordon and the other participants in the T-Mobile Rookie Challenge & Youth Jam were selected by the NBA’s assistant coaches, with each team submitting one ballot.

Gordon played on the Rookie team last season at All-Star Weekend and was a member of the NBA All-Rookie Second Team in 2008-09 is the Clippers second leading scorer this season, averaging 17.8 points, 2.5 rebounds and 2.9 assists in 35.5 minutes per game. Gordon is shooting 47.2 percent (184-of-390) from the field and is the Clippers leading three-point shooter, hitting on 37.3 percent (59-of-158) of his long-range shots.

The fourth-leading scorer among all NBA Sophomores, Gordon is joined on the team by Chicago’s Derrick Rose, Miami Heat forward Michael Beasley, Minnesota Timberwolves forward/center Kevin Love, New Jersey Nets center Brook Lopez, New York Knicks forward Danilo Gallinari, Oklahoma City Thunder guard Russell Westbrook, and a pair of teammates from the Memphis Grizzlies – center Marc Gasol and guard O.J. Mayo.

The Rookie team is made up of Sacramento teammates forward Omar Casspi and Tyreke Evans and also includes Chicago Bulls forward Taj Gibson, Detroit Pistons forward Jonas Jerebko, Golden State Warriors guard Stephen Curry, Milwaukee Bucks guard Brandon Jennings, Minnesota Timberwolves guard Jonny Flynn, Oklahoma City Thunder guard James Harden, and San Antonio forward/center DeJuan Blair.

The head coaches for the Rookie and Sophomore teams will be the lead assistants from the 2010 NBA All-Star Game coaching staffs, which will be determined by the best record in each conference through games played Jan. 31.

The T-Mobile Rookie Challenge & Youth Jam will be televised live nationally on TNT at 9 p.m. ET and also will be broadcast live on ESPN Radio, while will make live audio available to fans in multiple languages.

At halftime of the T-Mobile Rookie Challenge & Youth Jam, the Clippers’ Gordon and the Toronto Raptors’ DeMar DeRozan will compete in the first NBA All-Star Slam Dunk-In, a single-round slam dunk competition. Fans will be able to vote via SMS text message and at to determine who will advance to the Sprite Slam Dunk the following night.

The T-Mobile Rookie Challenge & Youth Jam began its current format pitting the Rookies against the Sophomores in 2000 and the Sophomores hold an 8-2 advantage over the first-year players. The game will be played in two 20-minute halves. Individual foul totals will be kept, but a player cannot foul out. A team will be in the penalty situation after 10 team fouls or after the second foul in the final two minutes of each half. In the event of a tie game, there will be a two-minute overtime to determine the winner. The clock will stop after each successful field goal in the last minute of each half.

As title partner of the Rookie Challenge and overall NBA Rookie Program, T-Mobile has teamed up with the NBA and NBA Cares to create the T-Mobile Rookie Challenge & Youth Jam, a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity for Dallas students to experience NBA All-Star 2010. By successfully completing academic, reading, school attendance, and community service requirements, nearly 4,000 students ages 11-15, from schools within the Dallas and Arlington Independent School Districts will watch the game from the best seats in the house at American Airlines Center.

T-Mobile will provide basketball fans with the opportunity to have their vote count toward selecting the MVP of the T-Mobile Rookie Challenge & Youth Jam by voting on or via SMS on mobile phones during the second half of the game.

NBA All-Star brings together the top NBA players and performers for a week of competition, community service and world-class entertainment. Among the many other exciting All-Star events are Sprite Slam Dunk, Foot Locker Three-Point Shootout, Taco Bell Skills Challenge, Haier Shooting Stars and NBA All-Star Jam Session presented by adidas.

Building upon its already strong appeal to the nation’s youth and as Official Partner of the NBA, T-Mobile is showcasing the NBA’s youngest players -- the Rookies -- through the T-Mobile Rookie Program. Highlights include the T-Mobile Rookie Challenge & Youth Jam, an All-Star competition between NBA rookies and second-year players, and rookie awards presentations including the T-Mobile Rookie of the Month and T-Mobile Rookie of the Year. To learn more about T-Mobile’s partnership with the NBA, visit

Below are the rosters for the 2010 T-Mobile Rookie Challenge & Youth Jam:

Player Team Pos. Ht. Wt. School/Country
Omri Casspi Sacramento F 6-9 225 Israel
DeJuan Blair San Antonio F-C 6-7 265 Pittsburgh
Stephen Curry Golden State G 6-3 185 Davidson
Tyreke Evans Sacramento G 6-6 220 Memphis
Jonny Flynn Minnesota G 6-0 185 Syracuse
Taj Gibson Chicago F 6-9 225 USC
James Harden Oklahoma City G 6-5 220 Arizona State
Brandon Jennings Milwaukee G 6-1 169 Lottomatica Virtus Roma (Italy)
Jonas Jerebko Detroit F 6-10 231 Sweden
Head Coach – TBD
Assistant Coach – TBD
Player Team Pos. Ht. Wt. School/Country
Michael Beasley Miami F 6-9 245 Kansas St.
Marc Gasol Memphis C 7-1 265 Spain
Danilo Gallinari New York G-F 6-10 225 Italy
Eric Gordon L.A. Clippers G 6-3 222 Indiana
Brook Lopez New Jersey C 7-0 260 Stanford
Kevin Love Minnesota F-C 6-10 260 Ohio State
O.J. Mayo Memphis G 6-4 210 USC
Derrick Rose Chicago G 6-3 190 Memphis
Russell Westbrook Oklahoma City G 6-3 187 UCLA
Head Coach – TBD
Assistant Coach – TBD
1994 - Phenoms 74, Sensations 68
1995 - White 83, Green 79 (OT)
1996 - East 94, West 92
1997 - East 96, West 91
1998 - East 85, West 80
2000 - Rookies 92, Sophomores 81 (OT)
2001 - Sophomores 121, Rookies 113
2002 - Rookies 103, Sophomores 97
2003 - Sophomores 132, Rookies 112
2004 - Sophomores 142, Rookies 118
2005 - Sophomores 133, Rookies 106
2006 - Sophomores 106, Rookies 96
2007 – Sophomores 155, Rookies 114
2008 – Sophomores 136, Rookies 109
2009 – Sophomores 122, Rookies 116

Related Content


  • Facebook
  • Twitter