Baylor Named NBA Executive of the Year

Los Angeles Clippers Vice President of Basketball Operations Elgin Baylor was today named NBA Executive of the Year by the Sporting News. In voting by 45 NBA executives, Baylor received 15 votes which nearly doubled the eight votes given to Toronto’s Bryan Colangelo, who finished second in the voting.

Under Baylor’s direction, the Clippers assembled a deep and talented roster that finished the regular season with a 47-35 record to post the most wins since the 1974-75 season. The Clippers also qualified for the playoffs for the first time in nine seasons and have advanced to the Western Conference Semifinals.

With a talented nucleus of Elton Brand, Corey Maggette, Chris Kaman and Shaun Livingston already in place, Baylor signed free agent shooting guard Cuttino Mobley and traded for veteran point guard Sam Cassell prior to the 2005-06 campaign in a pair of moves that proved instrumental to the Clippers success. Baylor also swung a midseason trade for forward Vladimir Radmanovic, who gave the Clippers the long-distance threat it needed to stretch opposing defenses.

An 11-time NBA All-Star and a 10-time All-NBA First Team selection as a player, Baylor adds the NBA Executive of the Year Award to his legendary list of basketball accolades. A member of the Basketball Hall of Fame, Baylor was also named NBA Rookie of the Year in 1959 and holds the NBA Finals single-game record for points in a game with 61 points in the 1962 NBA Finals versus the Boston Celtics.

Baylor will be presented with the NBA Executive of the Year Award by Stan McNeal of the Sporting News prior to Game 6 of the Western Conference Semifinals tomorrow night at 7:00 p.m. (PT) at STAPLES Center.