Celtics To Retire Cedric Maxwell's 31

Cedric MaxwellThe 1981 Finals MVP will become the 22nd Celtic to receive honor

(BOSTON, MA - April 10, 2003) - The Boston Celtics announced today that Cedric Maxwell's jersey number 31 will be retired in a ceremony at the beginning of the 2003-2004 season. Maxwell becomes the 22nd member of the Celtics to receive the honor.

"This is a well-deserved honor for Cedric Maxwell who was a unique player in that he was content to play defense and rebound, but there was never a doubt that he could score," said Celtics President Red Auerbach. "Winning was important to him and he'd do anything he could to make his team better."

Selected in the First Round (12th overall) of the 1977 NBA Draft by Boston, Maxwell went on to an impressive 11-year career in the league that saw him capture two NBA Championships, including 1981 when he was named MVP of the Finals, and 1984 when he uttered the famous phrase prior to a Game 7 victory over the Los Angeles Lakers: "Just hop on my back boys, and I'll take you on in." He did just that, scoring 24 points in the decisive Game 7 victory.

The gritty 6-8, 217-pound forward averaged 13.7 points and 6.6 rebounds over his eight seasons with Boston and is still is the Celtics all-time leader in FG%, shooting an astonishing .559 (2,786-4,984) from the floor. In fact, Maxwell never shot below .499 for his Celtic career and still is the single season leader in team history in free throw's made

(574) and field goal percentage (.609). He led the NBA in field goal percentage in consecutive seasons (1978-79 & 1979-80) and posted his best career numbers in 1978-79 when he led Boston in most statistical categories including minutes (2,969), FT made (574), rebounds (791) and points (1,518, 19.0).

Currently an analyst for Celtics radio broadcasts on WWZN 1510 AM, Maxwell is the first Celtic to have his number retired since Robert Parish's #00 went to the rafters in 1998. He will join the other greats listed below on a date to be determined once the 2003-2004 schedule is released later this summer:

Name Number Year of Ceremony
Walter Brown 1 1964
Red Auerbach 2 1985
Dennis Johnson 3 1991
Bill Russell 6 1972
JoJo White 10 1982
Bob Cousy 14 1963
Tom Heinsohn 15 1966
Tom Sanders 16 1973
John Havlicek 17 1978
Dave Cowens 18 1981
Don Nelson 19 1978
Bill Sharman 21 1966
Ed Macauley 22 1963
Frank Ramsay 23 n/a
Sam Jones 24 1969
K.C. Jones 25 1967
Kevin McHale 32 1994
Larry Bird 33 1993
Reggie Lewis 35 1995
Robert Parish 00 1998
Jim Locutoff "Loscy" n/a

*"Loscy" was retired because his number 18
was kept active for Cowens.


  • Facebook
  • Twitter