Jarrett Jack Wins Austin Carr Good Guy Award

The press release below is being issued on behalf of the Cleveland chapter of the Pro Basketball Writers Association.

CLEVELAND, OH - Cavaliers guard Jarrett Jack is the recipient of the ninth annual Austin Carr Good Guy Award, presented by the local chapter of the Pro Basketball Writers Association (PBWA).

The award, named after Cavaliers legend Austin Carr, is designed to recognize a Cavaliers player who is cooperative and understanding of the media. Carr, who played nine seasons with the Cavaliers, was the No. 1 pick of the 1971 NBA Draft by Cleveland and was selected by 32 members of the media in Northeast Ohio to the Cavaliers All-Time Starting Five during the Cavaliers 30th anniversary season in 1999-2000. He is now the television analyst for FOX Sports Ohio and assists with the teams community and business development efforts.

Jack, signed as a free agent last summer, became a key part of the Cavs rotation as well as an important veteran voice in the locker room. Going into Wednesday's season finale, he has played 79 games, starting 31, and is averaging 9.6 points, 2.8 rebounds and 4.0 assists in 28.2 minutes.

The award, which is presented annually, was voted upon by the local writers in Cleveland's chapter of the Pro Basketball Writers Association.

C.J. Miles and Tristan Thompson also were nominated.

Austin Carr Good Guy Award Recipient Winners:

2013-14 Jarrett Jack
2012-13 Luke Walton
2011-12 Anthony Parker
2010-11 Antawn Jamison
2009-10 Jamario Moon
2008-09 Zydrunas Ilgauskas
2007-08 Damon Jones
2006-07 Drew Gooden
2005-06 Larry Hughes

Related Content