Derrick Rose named NBA Rookie of the Year

Bulls point guard received 111 first-place votes (574 points); Memphis’ O.J. Mayo finished second with 246 points and New Jersey’s Brook Lopez finished third with 127 points.

Derrick Rose named NBA Rookie of the Year

Derrick Rose named NBA Rookie of the Year

Interview: Bulls' Rose still has plenty to prove
Why Derrick Rose?
Sam Smith: At 20, Rose's run has just begun
Sam Smith: Coming up Roses and making an impact
Sam Smith: Could this be the start of something special for the Bulls?
Derrick Rose for Rookie of the Year campaign launches
More D-Rose: One Singular Sensation |
Gentleman General | Flower Power
2008 NBA Draft Central | Rose eager for a Chicago homecoming

NEW YORK, April 22, 2009Derrick Rose of the Chicago Bulls is the recipient of the Eddie Gottlieb Trophy as the 2008-09 T-Mobile NBA Rookie of the Year, the NBA announced today.

Derrick Rose fields questions from the media

Rose received 111 first-place votes (574 points) from a panel of 120 sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada. Memphis’ O.J. Mayo finished second with 246 points and New Jersey’s Brook Lopez finished third with 127 points. Players were awarded five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote.

Selected with the first overall pick in the NBA Draft 2008, Rose led first-year players in assists (6.3 apg) and was second among rookies in scoring (16.8 ppg), to go along with 3.9 rebounds in 37.0 minutes. Rose shot .475 from the field and .788 from the free throw line. He started 80 of 81 games (missed one game due to injury on March 24), and finished the season in the top three in several categories all-time among Bulls rookies, including total points (3rd, 1,361), scoring (3rd, 16.8 ppg) and assists (3rd, 6.3 apg).

A three-time T-Mobile Eastern Conference Rookie of the Month selection (Nov., Dec., March), Rose scored in double digits 71 times including 32 games of at least 20 points. Rose represented Chicago at All-Star Saturday Night in Phoenix, becoming the first rookie to win the PlayStation® Skills Challenge with a time of 35.3 seconds. A participant in the 2009 T-Mobile Rookie Challenge & Youth Jam, Rose finished with four points and a team-high seven assists. Rose is the third Chicago rookie to win the award and the first since Elton Brand in 1999-00 (co-winner with Houston’s Steve Francis).

Throughout the 2008-09 season, for every point scored by the T-Mobile Rookie of the Month, T-Mobile USA pledged to donate $20 per point scored during the month the player won the award to better the various youth communities in Phoenix, the Host City of NBA All-Star 2009. T-Mobile will donate a total of $60,340, with $16,220 coming from the 811 points scored by Rose alone during the three months he won T-Mobile Rookie of the Month. The donation is part of the overall T-Mobile Rookie Program and builds on T-Mobile’s strong appeal to the nation’s youth as the official wireless partner of the NBA.

Other highlights of T-Mobile’s partnership with the NBA include the T-Mobile Rookie of the Year, T-Mobile Rookie of the Month Awards, and the T-Mobile Rookie Challenge & Youth Jam, an All-Star competition between NBA rookies and second-year players. During NBA All-Star 2009, T-Mobile and NBA Cares hosted more than 3,800 local students from five school districts in Phoenix, to sit in the lower bowl of the arena to watch this year’s T-Mobile Rookie Challenge & Youth Jam on Friday, February 13.

The Eddie Gottlieb Trophy is named in honor of Eddie Gottlieb, one of the NBA’s founders who coached the Philadelphia Warriors to the NBA championship in 1946-47.

Below are the voting results for the 2008-09 T-Mobile NBA Rookie of the Year Award and the all-time list of winners:


Rookie, Team 1st 2nd 3rd Total
Derrick Rose, Chicago 111 5 4 574
O.J. Mayo, Memphis 5 64 29 246
Brook Lopez, New Jersey 2 28 33 127
Russell Westbrook, Oklahoma City 2 13 24 73
Eric Gordon, L.A. Clippers - 4 10 22
Kevin Love, Minnesota - 2 10 16
Michael Beasley, Miami - 2 1 7
Marc Gasol, Memphis - 1 1 4
Robin Lopez, Phoenix - 1 - 3
Rudy Fernandez, Portland - - 3 3
Mario Chalmers, Miami - - 2 2
Courtney Lee, Orlando - - 2 2
Nicolas Batum, Portland - - 1 1


1952-53 - Don Meineke, Fort Wayne 1981-82 - Buck Williams, New Jersey
1953-54 - Ray Felix, Baltimore 1982-83 - Terry Cummings, San Diego
1954-55 - Bob Pettit, Milwaukee 1983-84 - Ralph Sampson, Houston
1955-56 - Maurice Stokes, Rochester 1984-85 - Michael Jordan, Chicago
1956-57 - Tom Heinsohn, Boston 1985-86 - Patrick Ewing, New York
1957-58 - Woody Sauldsberry, Philadelphia 1986-87 - Chuck Person, Indiana
1958-59 - Elgin Baylor, Minneapolis 1987-88 - Mark Jackson, New York
1959-60 - Wilt Chamberlain, Philadelphia 1988-89 - Mitch Richmond, Golden State
1960-61 - Oscar Robertson, Cincinnati 1989-90 - David Robinson, San Antonio
1961-62 - Walt Bellamy, Chicago 1990-91 - Derrick Coleman, New Jersey
1962-63 - Terry Dischinger, Chicago 1991-92 - Larry Johnson, Charlotte
1963-64 - Jerry Lucas, Cincinnati 1992-93 - Shaquille O'Neal, Orlando
1964-65 - Willis Reed, New York 1993-94 - Chris Webber, Golden State
1965-66 - Rick Barry, San Francisco 1994-95 - Grant Hill, Detroit and
Jason Kidd, Dallas (tie)
1966-67 - Dave Bing, Detroit 1995-96 - Damon Stoudamire, Toronto
1967-68 - Earl Monroe, Baltimore 1996-97 - Allen Iverson, Philadelphia
1968-69 - Wes Unseld, Baltimore 1997-98 - Tim Duncan, San Antonio
1969-70 - Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Milwaukee 1998-99 - Vince Carter, Toronto
1970-71 - Dave Cowens, Boston and
Geoff Petrie, Portland (tie)
1999-00 - Elton Brand, Chicago and
Steve Francis, Houston (tie)
1971-72 - Sidney Wicks, Portland 2000-01 - Mike Miller, Orlando
1972-73 - Bob McAdoo, Buffalo 2001-02 - Pau Gasol, Memphis
1973-74 - Ernie DiGregorio, Buffalo 2002-03 - Amaré Stoudemire, Phoenix
1974-75 - Keith Wilkes, Golden State 2003-04 - LeBron James, Cleveland
1975-76 - Alvan Adams, Phoenix 2004-05 - Emeka Okafor, Charlotte
1976-77 - Adrian Dantley, Buffalo 2005-06 - Chris Paul, New Orleans/Okla. City
1977-78 - Walter Davis, Phoenix 2006-07 - Brandon Roy, Portland
1978-79 - Phil Ford, Kansas City 2007-08 - Kevin Durant, Seattle
1979-80 - Larry Bird, Boston 2008-09 -Derrick Rose, Chicago
1980-81 - Darrell Griffith, Utah


  • Facebook
  • Twitter