Chicago Bulls Launch Ring of Honor and Announce Inaugural Class

13 Individuals and the 1995-96 team to be celebrated on January 11 and 12

CHICAGO – Today, the Chicago Bulls named the inaugural class for the organization’s new Ring of Honor, which will recognize and celebrate past players, coaches and front office staff who made outstanding contributions and helped define the organization throughout its history. The Bulls will celebrate the first class, which includes 13 individuals and the 1995-96 team, with several events in January including a halftime presentation during the Bulls game against the Golden State Warriors on January 12 and a private gala at the United Center on January 11, both proudly presented by Magellan Corporation. Fans will be able to engage with the Ring of Honor through a United Center atrium experience that will be open to the public from January 10 through January 12, as well as a website that will launch in early January. 

“The Chicago Bulls Ring of Honor will be a first-of-its-kind celebration honoring many of the legends who have helped shaped our organization over the past 57 years,” said Michael Reinsdorf, president and chief executive officer. “They have deep connections to our fans and community and represent a spirit of competition, hard work, and toughness.  This January, we look forward to cementing their legacy in Bulls history and inspiring the future of our organization.”  

The Bulls will add to the Ring of Honor every two years with the next class being inducted in 2026. 

Ring of Honor Class of 2024  

The inaugural class includes 13 individual Bulls legends and one team: Artis Gilmore, Phil Jackson, Michael Jordan, Johnny “Red” Kerr, Dick Klein, Jerry Krause, Toni Kukoc, Bob Love, Scottie Pippen, Dennis Rodman, Jerry Sloan, Chet Walker, Tex Winter, and the 1995-96 team, which went 72-10 and won the 1996 NBA Championship.  

The Bulls will honor the following players, coaches and staff from the 1995-96 team:  

  • Players: Randy Brown, Jud Buechler Jason Caffey, James Edwards, Jack Haley, Ron Harper, Michael Jordan, Steve Kerr, Toni Kukoc, Luc Longley, Scottie Pippen, Dennis Rodman, John Salley, Dickey Simpkins and Bill Wennington 
  • Coaches: Jim Cleamons, Phil Jackson, John Paxson, Jimmy Rodgers and Tex Winter 
  • Front Office Members: Ivica Dukan, Clarence Gaines, Jr., Erik Helland, Jerry Krause, John Ligmanowski, Chip Schaefer, Jim Stack and Al Vermeil  

Chicago Bulls Ring of Honor Selection Criteria  

Chicago Bulls Ring of Honor honorees must all meet a set of criteria:   

  • Players must have spent at least three seasons with the Chicago Bulls  
  • Players must have retired from basketball for at least three years 
  • Staff must have made significant contributions to the Chicago Bulls 
  • Staff must have made an impact on championships or league awards 
  • All honorees must have significant achievements with the Bulls, made a meaningful contribution to team success or hold records that have sustained throughout team history 
  • All honorees must have demonstrated high character and integrity both on and off the court and throughout their playing career and retirement  

For the first class, in addition to the general evaluation criteria, all individual players have been honored by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame or have had their retirement banners raised at the United Center.  

To learn more and sign up for updates, please visit Bulls.com/RingofHonor. To buy tickets for the January 12 game, please visit Bulls.com/tickets.