Bulls General Manager Gar Forman named co-recipient of 2010-11 NBA Executive of the Year award

Audio—NBA Executive of the Year Gar Forman meets the media (05.10.2011):

NEW YORK, May 10, 2011 – Chicago Bulls General Manager Gar Forman and Miami Heat President Pat Riley are co-recipients of the 2010-11 NBA Executive of the Year award, the NBA announced today.

In his 13th season with Chicago and second as its general manager, Forman saw the Bulls win a league-best 62 games, rookie coach Tom Thibodeau earn the Red Auerbach Trophy as the 2010-11 NBA Coach of the Year, and Derrick Rose become the youngest player to win the Maurice Podoloff Trophy as the 2010-11 Kia NBA Most Valuable Player. Forman transformed a 41-win Bulls team by signing free agents Carlos Boozer, Ronnie Brewer, and Kyle Korver among others.

Riley entered his 16th season with the Heat as the architect of arguably one of the most successful offseasons in NBA history. Riley re-signed Dwyane Wade, and signed perennial All-Stars Chris Bosh and LeBron James to form the core of a team that went on to win 58 games and capture the second seed in the Eastern Conference.

Forman and Riley each received 11 of a possible 30 votes from a panel of their fellow team executives throughout the NBA. The Bulls’ John Paxson finished third with three votes and San Antonio’s R.C. Buford finished fourth with two votes. Oklahoma City’s Sam Presti, New Jersey’s Billy King and New York’s Donnie Walsh received one vote each.


1972-73 Joe Axelson, K.C./Omaha1973-74 Eddie Donovan, Buffalo1974-75 Dick Vertlieb, Golden State1975-76 Jerry Colangelo, Phoenix1976-77 Ray Patterson, Houston1977-78 Angelo Drossos, San Antonio1978-79 Bob Ferry, Washington1979-80 Red Auerbach, Boston1980-81 Jerry Colangelo, Phoenix1981-82 Bob Ferry, Washington1982-83 Zollie Volchok, Seattle1983-84 Frank Layden, Utah1984-85 Vince Boryla, Denver1985-86 Stan Kasten, Atlanta1986-87 Stan Kasten, Atlanta1987-88 Jerry Krause, Chicago1988-89 Jerry Colangelo, Phoenix1989-90 Bob Bass, San Antonio1990-91 Bucky Buckwalter, Portland1991-92 Wayne Embry, Cleveland1992-93 Jerry Colangelo, Phoenix1993-94 Bob Whitsitt, Seattle1994-95 Jerry West, Los Angeles Lakers1995-96 Jerry Krause, Chicago1996-97 Bob Bass, Charlotte1997-98 Wayne Embry, Cleveland1998-99 Geoff Petrie, Sacramento1999-00 John Gabriel, Orlando2000-01 Geoff Petrie, Sacramento2001-02 Rod Thorn, New Jersey2002-03 Joe Dumars, Detroit2003-04 Jerry West, Memphis2004-05 Bryan Colangelo, Phoenix2005-06 Elgin Baylor, Los Angeles Clippers2006-07 Bryan Colangelo, Toronto2007-08 Danny Ainge, Boston2008-09 Mark Warkentien, Denver2009-10 John Hammond, Milwaukee2010-11 Gar Forman, Chicago; Pat Riley, Miami