Bucks History

With 25 postseason appearances in 40 years, the Milwaukee Bucks franchise has a deep, rich history. Here you'll find a wide array of stats and stories about one of the NBA's winningest teams.

Championship Wins
1971 - Defeated Baltimore Bullets
Conference Titles
1971 1974
Divisional Titles
1971 1972 1973 1974 1976 1980 1981 1982 1983 1984 1985 1986 2001

Retired Numbers

1 Oscar Robertson in 1974

On April 21, 1970, the Bucks traded for Oscar Robertson, an All-Star in each of his 10 seasons in Cincinnati. Robertson joined Kareem Abdul- Jabbar to form one of the most formidable inside-outside duos in NBA history. The Bucks won 66 games, advanced to the Finals against Baltimore and “The Big O” had the championship that eluded him in Cincinnati. Robertson averaged 18.3 points per game in Milwaukee’s 12-2 postseason.

Robertson played three more seasons with the Bucks, and the team never won fewer than 59 games. In the last of his 14 NBA seasons, Oscar again led the Bucks to the Finals. Robertson retired after having led Milwaukee to a 248-80 record in four seasons. Robertson, the only Buck to wear the #1, had his jersey retired on Oct. 18, 1974.

2 Junior Bridgeman in 1988

Junior Bridgeman made his mark in Milwaukee as the Bucks “Super Sub.” He started only 105 of the 711 games he played in a Bucks uniform, but Bridgeman scored in double figures for eight straight seasons, consistently among the league’s highest scoring non-starters.

He was the league’s top scoring sixth man in 1978-79, averaging 15.5 points per game. J.B. averaged 17.6 points in the 1979-80 season and 16.8 points per game the following year as the Bucks reached the 60-win plateau for the fourth time. In nine seasons, he hit double figures eight times. Bridgeman has played more games than any player in Bucks history (711) and is among the Bucks all-time leaders in points (7th, 9,892), minutes (8th, 18,044), steals (T-9th, 607), field goals made (5th, 4,142) and attempted (5th, 8,658). His #2 was retired on Jan. 17, 1988.

4 Sidney Moncrief in 1990

During the ’80s, the most prolific decade in Bucks history, Sidney Moncrief was front man for a team that won 50 games for seven consecutive seasons and appeared in the playoffs in each of his 10 seasons (1979-89).

A five-time All-Star, Moncrief compiled 16.7 points per game in 10 seasons in Milwaukee. He also averaged 5.0 rebounds, 3.9 assists, 1.26 steals and finished with a career shooting percentage of better than 50 percent. But as proficient as Moncrief was at the offensive end, surely he was better known for his relentless defense. Moncrief earned four straight berths on the NBA’s All-Defensive First Team (1982-86) and was the first recipient of the NBA’s Defensive Player of the Year honor in 1983. His #4 was raised to the rafters on Jan. 6, 1990, at the Bradley Center. To this day, only Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and Glenn Robinson have scored more points in a Milwaukee uniform than Sir Sid (11,594).

10 Bob Dandridge in 2015

A member of the Bucks’ 1971 Championship team and three-time All-Star in Milwaukee, Bob “The Greyhound” Dandridge will go down among the greatest players to ever don a Bucks uniform, boasting career averages of 18.6 points, 7.3 rebounds and 3.2 assists in nine seasons with the team.

Dandridge was named to the NBA All-Rookie First Team in 1970, and NBA All-Defensive First Team and All-NBA Second Team in 1979, and ranks among the top-10 in 10 major offensive categories in Milwaukee’s franchise history, including minutes (1st, 22,094), points (5th, 11,478), rebounds (2nd, 4,497), assists (8th, 1,956), scoring average (10th, 18.6 ppg), games played (3rd, 618), field goals made (2nd, 4,826), field goals attempted (3rd, 9,901) and free throws made (6th, 1,826). After winning his first championship as a Buck, Dandridge went on to win a second as a member of the Washington Bullets in 1978, and was elected to a total of four All-Star Games in his career. His #10 was retired on March 7, 2015.

14 Jon McGlocklin in 1976

If it has happened in the 44-year history of the Bucks, Jonny Mac was there to see it. An original member of the team, he remains a fixture in the organization, having spent the last 37 seasons as a team broadcaster.

McGlocklin enjoyed an 11-year NBA career that included eight seasons – not to mention an All-Star appearance and an NBA Championship – in Milwaukee. He was the leading scorer on the inaugural Bucks team (19.6 ppg) and became the first player to represent the Bucks in an All-Star Game. McGlocklin’s name still graces the Bucks All-Time Leaders list in points (12th, 7,505), minutes (10th, 17,008) and free throw percentage (6th, .860). On Dec. 10, 1976, Jonny Mac’s #14 was raised to the rafters.

16 Bob Lanier in 1984

Bob Lanier was an NBA legend before he put on a Bucks uniform, but five seasons with the Bucks – and five division championships – cemented his place as one of the best players in NBA history. Arriving from Detroit, Lanier provided veteran leadership to a team that averaged 53 wins during his four-plus seasons. Lanier was a leader off the court as well, serving as the president of the NBA Players Association during the end of his playing days.

Despite his brief tenure, Lanier is ninth on the Bucks postseason scoring list (680 points), tied for sixth in rebounding (342) and tied for third in blocked shots (45). His playoff scoring average of 15.1 is 12th. Counting his five seasons in Milwaukee, Lanier amassed 19,248 points in 14 years, finishing his career with averages of 20.1 points and 10.1 rebounds per game. He was inducted into the Naismith Hall of Fame in 1991. Seven years earlier, on Dec. 4, 1984, his #16 was hung at the MECCA.

32 Brian Winters in 1983

Brian Winters, an All-American selection in high school and at the University of South Carolina, carved his niche in Bucks history, playing eight seasons and averaging 16.7 points per game. His numbers would undoubtedly have been even better, but the 3-point field goal came into existence after he had already played five seasons. For his career, he was 114-of-314 (.363) from downtown.

A two-time Bucks All-Star, in eight seasons he helped the team achieve six postseason berths. Upon retiring in 1983, Winters was the leading playmaker in Bucks history (now 3rd, 2,479 assists). He is among the Bucks all-time leaders in scoring (8th, 9,743), games played (5th, 582) and steals (5th, 718). Winters was the third Bucks player to have his number retired, raising his #32 on Oct. 28, 1983.

33 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar in 1993

Abdul-Jabbar (and his patented ‘sky-hook’) brought instant success to the Bucks. He earned Rookie of the Year honors in 1969-70, and the Bucks won 56 games. For an encore, Abdul-Jabbar led the Bucks to 66 wins and won the first of three MVP awards with the Bucks in 1970-71, averaging 31.7 ppg and 16.0 rpg. In the playoffs, he helped lead the Bucks to a 12-2 record and a World Championship.

After six seasons in Milwaukee, Abdul-Jabbar was (and still is) the leading scorer (14,211) and rebounder (7,161) in team history, and also tops the all-time list in scoring average (30.4 ppg), field goals made (5,902), attempted (10,787) and field goal percentage (.547). His 495 blocks rank fifth on the all-time list, even though the statistic was only kept during his final two seasons with the Bucks.

Abdul-Jabbar, a New York native, eventually longed for a return to big city life and was granted a trade to the Los Angeles Lakers, where he played 14 more seasons before retiring as the leading scorer in NBA history (38,387). He was elected to the Hall of Fame in 1995, and had his number 33 – which was never worn by another Bucks player – retired in a ceremony at the Bradley Center on April 24, 1993.

*During the Bucks 40th Anniversary season, the team re-dedicated the seven retired numbers at ceremonies throughout the 2007-08 season at the BMO Harris Bradley Center.*