With 25 postseason appearances in 40 years, the Milwaukee Bucks franchise has a deep, rich history. Here you'll find a wide array of stats and stories about one of the NBA's winningest teams.

Championship Wins

1971 - Defeated Baltimore Bullets

Conference Titles

1971 1974

Divisional Titles

1971 1972 1973 1974 1976 1980 1981 1982 1983 1984 1985 1986 2001

The Beginning

The National Basketball Association originally awarded the franchise to a group of investors based in Milwaukee - headed by Wesley D. Pavalon and Marvin L. Fishman - called Milwaukee Professional Sports and Services, Inc., on Jan. 22, 1968. Pavalon and Fishman were named president and executive vice president, respectively, as the franchise was incorporated on Feb. 5, 1968.

Larry Costello compiled a 410-264 (.608) record as the franchise’s first head coach

An application from Milwaukee Pro was registered with the Wisconsin Department of Securities for the sale of 300,000 shares of common stock to Wisconsin residents at $5 per share. Because the issue caught public fancy, an additional 125,000 shares were offered when the stock opened on the over-the-counter market on April 24, 1968.

Larry Costello compiled a 410-264 (.608) record as the franchise’s first head coach

On the basketball side of the operation, the team went through both the college and expansion draft under the watchful eye of the team’s first head coach, Larry Costello.

A Janesville, Wis., businessman, Jim Fitzgerald served as a member of the Board of Directors of Milwaukee Professional Sports and Services, Inc., beginning in 1973. He assumed his position as chairman of the board and president of the Bucks in November of 1976 and held that position until the sale of the franchise to Herb Kohl in the spring of 1985. Kohl’s purchase ensured that the team would remain in Milwaukee, and he would go on to lead the team as president for 29 seasons.

The Future

April 16, 2014 marked the beginning of a new era for the NBA franchise as ownership was transferred from Senator Kohl to a new ownership group headed by entrepreneurs Marc Lasry and Wes Edens. Shortly thereafter, Jamie Dinan joined as a majority owner, and an impressive assemblage of Milwaukee community leaders also took an ownership stake to infuse the team and city with a new vitality driven by the promise of a next-generation team that remains true to the spirit of the “Brew City.”

Owners Marc Lasry and Wes Edens introduce future Hall-of-Famer Jason Kidd as the new head coach of the Milwaukee Bucks

The 2014-15 season ushered in exciting additions including new head coach Jason Kidd, who came with a rich NBA pedigree and a reputation as one of the best point guards in league history. Under Kidd’s leadership is a strong roster of future stars including two of the most dynamic, young players in the NBA. 2014 No. 2 draft pick Jabari Parker joins Giannis Antetokounmpo to create one of the most exciting teams in the NBA and the start of a new kind of Milwaukee Bucks basketball.

In addition to an exciting roster of talented players and a Hall of Fame coach, the future off the court is also bright. The organization is in the process of developing a new sports and entertainment complex to serve as the home for the next era of Bucks basketball. The state-of-the-art facility will become an important part of the revitalization of downtown Milwaukee and become integral to the community’s economic future.