Dallas' Dirk Nowitzki
Nowitzki, the first European-born player to win MVP, earned 83 first place votes.
(Rocky Widner/NBAE/Getty Images)

With this year's major awards categories figuring to be some of the closest races we've seen in years, NBA.com turned to the league's GMs to gauge who might be taking home the hardware. With their votes in, we now turn to the official vote to see if the media agrees with the teams' decision makers.

May 15 -- Dirk Nowitzki of the Dallas Mavericks was named the winner of the Maurice Podoloff Trophy as the NBA’s Most Valuable Playerfor the 2006-07 season.

The nine-year NBA veteran totaled 1,138 points, including 83 first place votes, from a panel of 129 sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada. Players were awarded 10 points for each first-place vote, seven points for each second-place vote, five for third, three for fourth and one for each fifth-place vote received

May 14 -- For the second time in his career, Bryan Colangelo, President and General Manager of the Toronto Raptors, was named The Sporting News’ NBA Executive of the Year. Colangelo also received the honor in 2004-05 when he guided the Phoenix Suns to the third-greatest turnaround in NBA history.

After 15 years with the Suns, Colangelo, 41, joined the Raptors on Feb. 28, 2006, and began building the roster around star forward Chris Bosh. With the top pick in the 2006 NBA Draft, Colangelo selected Andrea Bargnani. Under Colangelo’s first full season at the helm, Toronto won its first Atlantic Division title, earned home court advantage in the Playoffs for the first time in team history and won a franchise record-tying 47 wins – a 20-win improvement over the 2005-06 season.

May 10 -- Phoenix guard and two-time defending NBA Most Valuable Player Steve Nash and Suns center Amaré Stoudemire are the first teammates since the L.A. Lakers’ Kobe Bryant and Shaquille O’Neal in 2003-04 to be named to the First Team, as the NBA announced the 2006-07 All-NBA Teams today.

Joining Nash at guard on the First Team is Bryant, the NBA’s leading scorer during the regular season. San Antonio’s Tim Duncan and Dallas’ Dirk Nowitzki join Stoudemire in the frontcourt.

May 2 -- Brandon Roy of the Portland Trail Blazers will receive the Eddie Gottlieb Trophy as the 2006-07 T-Mobile NBA Rookie of the Year. Roy received 127 out of a possible 128 first-place votes (638 points) from a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada.

April 27 -- Marcus Camby of the Denver Nuggets has won the 2006-07 NBA Defensive Player of the Year Award, the NBA announced. The 6-11 forward/center averaged a league-high 3.30 blocks to go along with 11.7 rpg (tied for fourth in the NBA), 11.2 ppg and a career-high 3.2 apg. Camby led the Nuggets in starts (70) and recorded a career-best 32 games with double figures in both points and rebounds. Camby also led all centers in steals (1.24 spg).

April 26 -- Monta Ellis of the Golden State Warriors was named the winner of the 2006-07 NBA Most Improved Player Award, presented to a player who has made a dramatic improvement from the previous season or seasons. After averaging 6.8 points, 3.1 rebounds and 1.6 assists and .415 shooting for the Warriors in 2005-06, Ellis increased his scoring by 9.7 points (16.5 ppg) – the largest increase in the NBA this season – to go along with his averages of 3.2 rebounds, 4.1 assists and 1.71 steals.

April 24 -- Toronto Raptors head coach Sam Mitchell has been named the winner of the Red Auerbach Trophy as the NBA Coach of the Year for the 2006-07 season. Mitchell, the first coach in Raptors history to receive the honor, led the Raptors to their first Atlantic Division title and a franchise-record-tying 47 wins. The sixth head coach in franchise history, Mitchell guided the team to an NBA-best 20-game improvement (27-55) over the 2005-06 season.

April 23 -- Leandro Barbosa of the Phoenix Suns has been named the winner of the 2006-07 NBA Sixth Man Award, honoring the league’s top player in a reserve role. The fourth year guard from Brazil becomes the fourth Suns player to win NBA Sixth Man honors, joining Eddie Johnson (1988-89), Danny Manning (1997-98) and Rodney Rogers (1999-00).

May 3 -- Luol Deng of the Chicago Bulls is the recipient of the Joe Dumars Trophy presented to the 2006-07 NBA Sportsmanship Award winner. Deng is the first Bull to win the award.

Most Valuable Player
Official: Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas
GMs: Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas
All-NBA Teams
Official: Nash, Stoudemire lead First Team
Rookie of the Year
Official: Brandon Roy, Portland
GMs: Brandon Roy, Portland
Official: Roy, Bargnani lead All-Rookie team
Defensive Player of the Year
Official: Marcus Camby, Denver
GMs: Marcus Camby, Denver
Coach of the Year
Official: Sam Mitchell, Toronto
GMs: Avery Johnson, Dallas
Sixth Man Award
Official: Leandro Barbosa, Phoenix
GMs: Leandro Barbosa, Phoenix
Most Improved Player
Official: Monta Ellis, Golden State
GMs: Kevin Martin, Sacramento

Brandon Roy named ROY
The Blazers' Brandon Roy was named the T-Mobile NBA Rookie of the Year on Wednesday.

Camby Wins Defensive Player of the Year
Marcus Camby, along with his teammate Allen Iverson and coach George Karl, reacts to his winning the DPOY award.

Mitchell named Coach of the Year
Raptors head coach Sam Mitchell discusses his recognition as Coach of the Year.

Barbosa wins Sixth Man Award
Leandro Barbos talks about winning the Sixth Man Award.

Ellis Named Most Improved Player
NBA TV caught up with Monta Ellis to get his impression on winning the 2006-07 NBA Most Improved Player Award.

All-NBA First Team: Kobe Bryant
Take a look at Lakers guard Kobe Bryant's top 10 plays of the 2006-07 season.

All-NBA First Team: Dirk Nowitzki
Take a look at Mavericks forward Dirk Nowitzki's top 10 plays of the 2006-07 season.

All-NBA First Team: Steve Nash
Watch the top 10 plays of the season from Suns guard Steve Nash.

All-NBA First Team: Amare Stoudemire
Check out the monster jams and blocks in Amare Stoudemire's Top 10 plays of the season.

All-NBA First Team: Tim Duncan
Watch the top 10 plays of the 2006-07 season from Spurs big man Tim Duncan.