Phoenix's Steve Nash
Steve Nash helped make up for the injury to Amaré Stoudemire.
(Andrew D. Bernstein/NBAE/Getty Images)
With this year's major awards categories figuring to be some of the closest races we've seen in years, and individual cases being made for who should win, turned to the league's GMs to gauge who might be taking home the hardware. With their votes in, we now turn to the official vote to see if the media agrees with the teams' decision makers.

May 7 -- Steve Nash of the Phoenix Suns was named the winner of the Maurice Podoloff Trophy as the NBA’s Most Valuable Player for the 2005-06 season, the NBA announced today. He joins Hall of Famer Magic Johnson as the only point guards in league history to capture multiple MVP trophies and becomes one of only nine players to win the award in consecutive seasons. The 10-year NBA veteran totaled 924 points, including 57 first place votes, from a panel of 125 sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada.

May 10 -- Chris Paul of the New Orleans/Oklahoma City Hornets received the Eddie Gottlieb Trophy as the 2005-06 T-Mobile Rookie of the Year. Paul received 124 out of a possible 125 first-place votes (623 points) from a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada, the largest percent of votes since David Robinson received 100 percent of first-place votes in 1989-90.
  • 2005-06 NBA T-Mobile All-Rookie Team

    May 8 -- The NBA announced today that Ben Wallace of the Detroit Pistons has won the 2005-06 NBA Defensive Player of the Year Award, marking the fourth time in his career that he has captured the trophy as the league’s best defender.
  • 2005-06 NBA All-Defensive Team

    May 1 -- Boris Diaw of the Phoenix Suns was named the winner of the 2005-06 NBA Most Improved Player Award. The annual award is presented to a player who has made a dramatic improvement from the previous season or seasons.

    April 30 -- Elton Brand of the Los Angeles Clippers is the recipient of the Joe Dumars Trophy, presented to the 2005-06 NBA Sportsmanship Award winner.

    April 28 -- Mike Miller of the Memphis Grizzlies has been named the winner of the 2005-06 NBA Sixth Man Award, honoring the league’s top player in a reserve role.

    April 27 -- Kevin Garnett of the Minnesota Timberwolves is the 2006 recipient of the J. Walter Kennedy Citizenship Award presented annually by the Professional Basketball Writers Association. The award is named for the second commissioner of the league and honors an NBA player or coach for outstanding service and dedication to the community.

    April 25 -- On April 25, the first award of the year was announced, as Dallas' Avery Johnson was named the winner of the Red Auerbach Trophy as the NBA Coach of the Year. In his first full season as the Mavericks' head coach, Johnson received 63 first-place votes and 419 total points, from a panel of 124 sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada.

    Coach of the Year
    Official: Avery Johnson, Dallas
    GMs: Avery Johnson, Dallas Making the Case ...
    Most Valuable Player
    Official: Steve Nash, Phoenix
    GMs: Steve Nash, Phoenix Making the Case ...
    Rookie of the Year
    Official: Chris Paul, New Orleans/Okla. City
    GMs: Chris Paul, New Orleans/Okla. City Making the Case ...
    Defensive Player of the Year
    Official: Ben Wallace, Detroit
    GMs: Ben Wallace, Detroit Making the Case ...
    Sixth Man Award
    Official: Mike Miller, Memphis
    GMs: Mike Miller, Memphis Making the Case ...
    Most Improved Player
    Official: Boris Diaw, Phoenix
    GMs: Boris Diaw, Phoenix Making the Case ...
    Coach of the Year: Avery Johnson
    Defensive Player: Ben Wallace
    Sixth Man Award: Mike Miller
    T-Mobile Rookie: Chris Paul
    Most Valuable Player: Steve Nash
    Most Improved Player: Boris Diaw
    Kennedy Citzenship: Kevin Garnett
    Sportsmanship Award: Elton Brand