Giannis Antetokounmpo becomes 12th player to win consecutive MVP awards

Sep 18, 2020 5:17 PM ET

Milwaukee Bucks star Giannis Antetokounmpo won his second straight Kia NBA Most Valuable Player Award on Friday, becoming the 12th player in league history to secure the award in consecutive seasons. 


Players to win back-to-back Kia MVPs
PlayerConsecutive MVPsYearsTeam
Bill Russell31960-62Boston Celtics
Wilt Chamberlain 31965-67Philadelphia 76ers
Larry Bird31983-85Boston Celtics
Kareem Abdul-Jabbar21970-71Milwaukee Bucks
Kareem Abdul-Jabbar21975-76Los Angeles Lakers
Moses Malone21981-82Houston Rockets/ Philadelphia 76ers
Magic Johnson 21988-89  Los Angeles Lakers
Michael Jordan21990-91Chicago Bulls
Tim Duncan22001-02San Antonio Spurs
Steve Nash22004-05Phoenix Suns
LeBron James22008-09Cleveland Cavaliers
LeBron James22011-12 Miami Heat
Stephen Curry22014-15  Golden State Warriors
Giannis Antetokounmpo22019-20Milwaukee Bucks


Enjoy some of the best plays from the NBA's 12 consecutive MVP winners.

Copyright © 2020 NBA Media Ventures, LLC. All rights reserved.

If you are having difficulty accessing any content on this website, please visit our Accessibility page.

Privacy Policy | Accessibility and Closed Caption | Terms of Use |
Do Not Sell My Personal Information is part of Turner Sports Digital, part of the Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network.

Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. A Time Warner Company.