2019 AT&T Slam Dunk
2019 AT&T Slam Dunk

Miles Bridges, John Collins, Hamidou Diallo and Dennis Smith Jr. to take flight in AT&T Slam Dunk

Official release

Feb 5, 2019 8:14 PM ET


Two rookies (Bridges and Diallo) and two second-year players (Collins and Smith) comprise the AT&T Slam Dunk field.

NEW YORK – Charlotte Hornets forward Miles Bridges, Atlanta Hawks forward-center John Collins, Oklahoma City Thunder guard Hamidou Diallo and New York Knicks guard Dennis Smith Jr. will showcase their aerial artistry and leaping ability in the 2019 AT&T Slam Dunk on Saturday, Feb. 16 at Spectrum Center in Charlotte, North Carolina.

The 34th Slam Dunk is part of State Farm® All-Star Saturday Night, which also features the Taco Bell® Skills Challenge and the MTN DEW 3-Point Contest.  All-Star Saturday Night will air live on TNT and ESPN Radio in the United States at 8 p.m. ET.  NBA All-Star 2019 will reach fans in more than 200 countries and territories in more than 40 languages on their televisions, computers, mobile phones and tablets.

AT&T has become the title partner of Slam Dunk as part of a new multiyear official marketing partnership with the NBA.  This new agreement will tip off next week at NBA All-Star 2019, where AT&T will also be the presenting partner of NBA All-Star Practice and Media Day. 

Two rookies (Bridges and Diallo) and two second-year NBA players (Collins and Smith) comprise the AT&T Slam Dunk field.  Here is a closer look at the participants:

Miles Bridges, Hornets
Competing in his home arena, the 6-7 forward is the Hornets’ first Slam Dunk participant since 2010 (Gerald Wallace).  Bridges, the 12th overall pick in NBA Draft 2018 presented by State Farm, has 12 double-digit scoring games this season.  He was a consensus 2017-18 Second Team All-American in his sophomore season at Michigan State.

John Collins, Hawks
Collins leads Atlanta in scoring (19.6 ppg) and rebounding (10.0 rpg) and ranks ninth in the NBA in field goal percentage (58.4).  He earned a spot on the U.S. Team for MTN DEW ICE Rising Stars, which will be played on Friday, Feb. 15 during NBA All-Star 2019.  The 6-10 forward-center was named to the 2017-18 NBA All-Rookie Second Team after averaging 10.5 points and 7.3 rebounds last season.  A former Wake Forest star, Collins is Atlanta’s first Slam Dunk competitor since 2006 (Josh Smith).  

Hamidou Diallo, Thunder
Diallo, a 6-5 guard, recorded a 44.5-inch maximum vertical jump at the 2017 NBA Draft Combine powered by Under Armour, the second-highest mark in event history.  The 45th overall pick in NBA Draft 2018 presented by State Farm has appeared in 43 games as a rookie with Oklahoma City.  In his three starts, Diallo has averaged 8.7 points and shot 76.9 percent from the field.  He is the Thunder’s first Slam Dunk participant since 2011 (Serge Ibaka). 

Dennis Smith Jr., Knicks
Smith returns to Slam Dunk after finishing third last season.  The 6-3 guard, who was acquired by New York in a trade with the Dallas Mavericks on Jan. 31, is averaging 12.8 points and 4.4 assists per game.  Last season, the Fayetteville, N.C., native averaged 15.2 points and 5.2 assists and joined Collins on the 2017-18 NBA All-Rookie Second Team.  Smith is the Knicks’ first Slam Dunk competitor since 2013 (James White). 

2019 AT&T Slam Dunk Rules

In the two-round event, participants can perform any dunk they choose.  The players have a maximum of three attempts to complete each dunk in both the first round and the final round.  Five judges score every dunk on a scale of 6 to 10, resulting in a high score of 50 and a low score of 30.

All four competitors get two dunks in the first round.  The two players with the highest combined score for their two dunks advance to the head-to-head final round.  The player with the highest combined score for his two dunks in the final round is crowned the champion.  Click here for a complete explanation of the rules.

Below is the lineup for the 2019 AT&T Slam Dunk and a list of previous winners.

2019 AT&T Slam Dunk Participants

Miles BridgesCharlotte HornetsF6-7225
John CollinsAtlanta HawksF/C6-10235
Hamidou DialloOklahoma City ThunderG6-5198
Dennis Smith Jr.New York KnicksG6-3195

AT&T Slam Dunk Winners

  • 1984 – Larry Nance, Phoenix 
  • 1985 – Dominique Wilkins, Atlanta
  • 1986 – Spud Webb, Atlanta    
  • 1987 – Michael Jordan, Chicago
  • 1988 – Michael Jordan, Chicago
  • 1989 – Kenny Walker, New York
  • 1990 – Dominique Wilkins, Atlanta
  • 1991 – Dee Brown, Boston    
  • 1992 – Cedric Ceballos, Phoenix
  • 1993 – Harold Miner, Miami
  • 1994 – Isaiah Rider, Minnesota
  • 1995 – Harold Miner, Miami  
  • 1996 – Brent Barry, LA Clippers
  • 1997 – Kobe Bryant, L.A. Lakers
  • 2000 – Vince Carter, Toronto
  • 2001 – Desmond Mason, Seattle
  • 2002 – Jason Richardson, Golden State
  • 2003 – Jason Richardson, Golden State
  • 2004 – Fred Jones, Indiana
  • 2005 – Josh Smith, Atlanta
  • 2006 – Nate Robinson, New York
  • 2007 – Gerald Green, Boston
  • 2008 – Dwight Howard, Orlando
  • 2009 – Nate Robinson, New York
  • 2010 – Nate Robinson, New York
  • 2011 – Blake Griffin, LA Clippers
  • 2012 – Jeremy Evans, Utah
  • 2013 – Terrence Ross, Toronto
  • 2014 – East (Paul George, Terrence Ross, John Wall)
  • 2015 – Zach LaVine, Minnesota
  • 2016 – Zach LaVine, Minnesota
  • 2017 – Glenn Robinson III, Indiana
  • 2018 – Donovan Mitchell, Utah

Copyright © 2020 NBA Media Ventures, LLC. All rights reserved.

Privacy Policy | Accessibility and Closed Caption | Terms of Use |
Do Not Sell My Personal Information

NBA.com is part of Turner Sports Digital, part of the Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network.

Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. A Time Warner Company.