Around The League
Around The League

Golden State Warriors clinch fourth straight Pacific Division title

From NBA Twitter and media reports

Mar 16, 2018 1:11 AM ET

The Warriors are champions of the Pacific Division for the fourth consecutive season.

The Golden State Warriors clinched the 2017-18 Pacific Division title Friday night by virtue of the Houston Rockets' victory over the Los Angeles Clippers, earning four consecutive division crowns for the first time in franchise history.

This marks the franchise's sixth Pacific Division title since the NBA began using the current divisional format in 1970-71. Only the Los Angeles Lakers have won more Pacific Division titles (23).

Warriors coach Steve Kerr joins Pat Riley as the only coaches to win division titles in each of their first four seasons at the helm.

• NBA Playoff Picture

The Warriors, at 52-16, sit in second place in the Western Conference, will make their sixth consecutive playoff appearance for the first time since qualifying for the postseason in each of the first six years of the league’s existence.

Copyright © 2019 NBA Media Ventures, LLC. All rights reserved.

Privacy Policy | Accessibility and Closed Caption | Terms of Use | is part of Turner Sports Digital, part of the Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network.

Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. A Time Warner Company.