NBA players with two different numbers retired

From Staff

Dec 18, 2017 10:13 PM ET

Kobe Bryant won three NBA titles wearing No. 8 and two more wearing No. 24 before retiring in 2016.

Kobe Bryant wore No. 8 from 1996 to 2006, when he switched to No. 24 for the remainder of a 20-year career spent entirely with the Los Angeles Lakers. He is the 10th player honored by the Lakers with a retired number, and the first in NBA history to have two numbers retired by the same team.

Bryant becomes the sixth NBA player to have two different numbers retired, joining Oscar Robertson, Earl Monroe, Julius Erving, Pete Maravich and Shaquille O'Neal.

Oscar Robertson -- Bucks and Kings (via Cincinnati Royals)
Oscar Robertson an unstoppable offensive player and a triple-double machine during his 14-year career.

Earl Monroe -- Knicks and Bullets/Wizards
One the greatest ballhandlers of all time, Earl "The Pearl" Monroe helped herald a new era of basketball.

Pete Maravich -- Jazz and Hawks
"Pistol" Pete Maravich dazzled fans throughout his career with lights-out shooting and exquisite passing.

Julius Erving -- 76ers and Nets
With his creativity and high-flying dunks, Julius Erving (aka Dr. J) changed the way the game was played.

Shaquille O'Neal -- Lakers and Heat
Shaquille O'Neal led the Lakers to three straight titles (2000-02) and powered the Heat to another in 2006.


Copyright © 2019 NBA Media Ventures, LLC. All rights reserved.

Privacy Policy | Accessibility and Closed Caption | Terms of Use | is part of Turner Sports Digital, part of the Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network.

Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. A Time Warner Company.