Raptors big man Chris Bosh congratulates teammate Jason Kapono on winning his second straight Three-Point Shootout in record fashion.
(Andrew D. Bernstein/NBAE/Getty Images)
Kapono Defends Title, Ties Record

Toronto Raptors guard Jason Kapono defended his title in this year’s Foot Locker Three-Point Shootout with 25 points, tying the all-time record set in 1986 by Mark Price, as part of NBA All-Star Saturday Night at New Orleans Arena.

Kapono became the first back-to-back winner of the Foot Locker Three-Point Shootout since Peja Stojakovic won the 2002 and 2003 titles. Kapono entered the final round facing Cleveland Cavaliers point guard Daniel Gibson, who finished in second place with 17 points, and Dallas Mavericks forward Dirk Nowitzki, who took third with 14.

Stojakovic, of the hometown New Orleans Hornets, also competed Saturday night along with Richard Hamilton of the Detroit Pistons, two-time MVP Steve Nash of the Phoenix Suns.

Read more
Shootout Photo Gallery
Shootout Video: Highlights | Kapono practice | Hamilton practice

2007-08 SeasonCareer
Daniel Gibson105225.467278625.450
Richard Hamilton4392.467312911.342
Jason Kapono5098.510280599.467
Steve Nash101216.46811472737.429
Dirk Nowitzki41139.2959812605.377
Peja Stojakovic122264.46213173260.404

Jason Kapono is 2007 Three-Point Champ
Jason Kapono tied Mark Price's final-round record with 24 points and outlasted Gilbert Arenas on his way to the 2007 Foot Locker Three-Point Shootout title. Arenas notched a first-round high of 23 points and had 17 in the finals. Defending champion Dirk Nowitzki had 20 in round one and nine in the finals, and Kapono narrowly made the finals with a first-round score of 19. Mike Miller (18), Damon Jones (15) and Jason Terry (10) were eliminated early.
• Photos: 2007 Three-Point Shootout
• Video: Three-Point Shootout highlights
• Showtime: All-Star Saturday Night recap

Dirk Outshoots Arenas and Allen
Dirk Nowitzki defeated Gilbert Arenas and Ray Allen to take home the victory in the 2006 Foot Locker Three-Point Shootout as part of All-Star Weekend in Houston. Nowitzki finished the 2006 competition with 18 points in the final round, while Arenas tallied 16 and Allen collected 15. Defending champion Quentin Richardson failed to make it out of the first round. He and Chauncey Billups both banked 12 points. Dirk's teammate Jason Terry finished with 13 first-round points.
• Video highlights | Dirk's press conference
• Shootout Photo Gallery
• NBA.com Remembers: Bird in 1988

Quentin's Nine Nails Down Title in '05
Last year, as a member of the Phoenix Suns, Quentin Richardson drilled his last nine shots to finish with a final-round score of 19 to take home the win.
• Richardson talks about his win
• Highlights: 300k
• History: Results | Records
• By round: '00-05 | '90-98 | '86-89