NEW YORK, Feb. 7, 2008 – Today the NBA announced the twenty-four top wheelchair basketball players from the National Wheelchair Basketball Association who will participate in the 2008 NBA/NWBA All-Star Wheelchair Classic. The game will be held on Thursday, Feb.14 at 5:00 p.m. CT at the Ernest M. Morial Convention Center during NBA All-Star Jam Session presented by adidas.

As part of the NBA Cares All-Star community outreach activities, NWBA All-Stars will host their annual basketball clinic on Wednesday, Feb. 13 at 6:00 p.m. CT, for over 75 young athletes, some of them also wheelchair-bound, at Dryades YMCA in New Orleans.

“NBA All-Star is a great showcase for our game since it gives fans a front row seat to the skill displayed by our athletes,” said Todd Hatfield, NWBA Executive Director. “Also, thanks to the NBA Cares program, our players will be able to show young athletes what they can achieve.”

A tradition started during NBA All-Star 1998, the NBA/NWBA All-Star Wheelchair Classic will feature top wheelchair athletes selected from wheelchair teams that are members of the NWBA. The players, selected by the NWBA, are divided into East and West All-Stars. For more information on the NWBA go to

The National Wheelchair Basketball Association is comprised of over 200 basketball teams within twenty-two conferences. The NWBA was founded in 1948, and today consists of men's, women's, intercollegiate, and youth teams throughout the United States of America and Canada.


NWBA East All-Star Team
Donnie Langford - Charlotte Rollin' Bobcats
Juan Woidtke - Cleveland Cavaliers
Jeff Glasbrenner - Dallas Wheelchair Mavericks
Paul Schulte - Dallas Wheelchair Mavericks
Jason Nelms - Dallas Wheelchair Mavericks (DII)
Bobbie Nickleberry - Dallas Wheelchair Mavericks (DII)
Mike Looney - Magee Sixers
Carlos Ocasio - Miami Heat Wheels
Jake Counts - Milwaukee Wheelchair Bucks
Allen Champaign - New Orleans Hornets
David Snowden - New York Rollin’ Knicks
Eddie Lopez - New York Rollin’ Knicks

NWBA West All-Star Team
Christina Ripp - Denver Rolling Nuggets
Paul "Taz" Capasso - Denver Rolling Nuggets
Rob Knight - Denver Rolling Nuggets
Chuck Gill - Golden State Warriors
Trooper Johnson - Golden State Warriors
Luis Blancas - LA Clippers
William Arriaga - LA Fast Breakin Lakers
Mike Garafola -LA Lakers
Tommy Schroeder - Phoenix Suns
David Gonzales - San Antonio Spurs (DII)
Jeff Griffin - Utah Wheelin' Jazz
Jeff Townsend - Utah Wheelin' Jazz