NEW YORK, February 8 – Six first-time All-Stars headline the list of reserves for the 2005 NBA All-Star Game, to be played on Sunday, February 20 at Pepsi Center in Denver, Colorado.

Washington Wizards guard Gilbert Arenas and forward Antawn Jamison and Miami Heat guard Dwyane Wade will all make their first career All-Star appearance for the Eastern Conference. Center Zydrunas Ilgauskas of the Cleveland Cavaliers, forwards Jermaine O’Neal of the Indiana Pacers, Paul Pierce of the Boston Celtics and Ben Wallace of the Detroit Pistons round out the Eastern reserves.

Steve Nash will again dish to former teammate Dirk Nowitzki.
NBAE/Getty Images
Three Western Conference players are also making their initial All-Star appearance as forwards Manu Ginobili of the San Antonio Spurs, Rashard Lewis of the Seattle SuperSonics and Amaré Stoudemire of the Phoenix Suns have each been invited to Denver. Also named to the Western Conference All-Star team are guard Ray Allen of Seattle, forward Shawn Marion and guard Steve Nash of the Phoenix Suns and forward Dirk Nowitzki of the Dallas Mavericks.

The 14 players selected—seven each from the Eastern and Western Conferences—were chosen by a vote of the 30 NBA head coaches. The coaches were asked to vote for seven players in their respective conferences – two guards, two forwards, one center and two players regardless of position. They were not permitted to vote for players from their own team.

Previously selected, as starters for the East through the NBA All-Star 2005 Balloting Program were Cleveland’s LeBron James, who is also making his first NBA All-Star Game appearance, Miami’s Shaquille O’Neal, New Jersey’s Vince Carter, Orlando’s Grant Hill and Philadelphia’s Allen Iverson. Houston’s Tracy McGrady and Yao Ming, Los Angeles Lakers’ Kobe Bryant, Minnesota’s Kevin Garnett and San Antonio’s Tim Duncan will start for the West.

The selections of Ilgauskas (Lithuania), Ginobili (Argentina), Nash (Canada), Nowitzki (Germany) along with voted-starters Duncan (U.S. Virgin Islands) and Yao (China), gives the 2005 All-Star Game six international players, tying the 2003 and 2004 All-Star Game record for the most international All-Stars in one year.

Should any player be unable to participate in the All-Star Game due to injury, NBA Commissioner David Stern will select the replacement. Stan Van Gundy of the Miami Heat will coach the Eastern Conference All-Stars and Gregg Popovich of the San Antonio Spurs will represent the Western Conference.

The NBA All-Star Game will be televised live nationally on TNT in the United States and on Rogers Sportsnet in Canada at 6 p.m. MT/ 8 p.m. ET. Live audio broadcasts are available on ESPN Radio and on in multiple languages.

For the third consecutive year, NBA All-Stars will wear uniforms created just for the game. This year’s All-Stars will be outfitted in new uniforms from Reebok which were inspired by the Denver Nuggets uniform design. The West will wear white jerseys and the East will wear blue while the shorts will feature a star encapsulated NBA logo on each side, a conference logo on the waistband and a “05DN” wordmark on the center back which represents 2005 Denver. will provide basketball fans with the opportunity to have their vote count towards selecting the MVP of the 54th NBA All-Star Game, as a part of the site's exclusive NBA All-Star 2005 coverage.

Through the 2005 NBA All-Star Balloting program, which ran from November 18, 2004 through January 23, 2005, fans had the opportunity to vote in more ways than ever. The balloting program expanded to include 19 languages on the Network, downloadable ballots via Verizon Wireless and approximately 150 Loews Cineplex Entertainment movie theaters in the United States. This year, Twentieth Century Fox joined Sprite, America Online, Reebok and approximately 2,100 Foot Locker and Champs Sports stores in the United States and Canada as All-Star balloting partners. Ballots were also distributed in all 29 NBA arenas and all six NBDL arenas.

NBA All-Star 2005 is a week-long celebration that enables fans to experience the thrill of the world’s greatest athletes playing the game they love and features a full slate of community enhancing activities and fan festivals.

Head coach: Stan Van Gundy (Miami)
Player Team Pos. Ht. Wt. All-Star
#Gilbert Arenas Washington G 6-3 191 1
*Vince Carter New Jersey F 6-6 220 6
*Grant Hill Orlando F 6-8 225 7
Zydrunas Ilgauskas Cleveland C 7-3 260 2
*Allen Iverson Philadelphia G 6-0 165 6
*#LeBron James Cleveland G 6-8 245 1
#Antawn Jamison Washington F 6-9 230 1
Jermaine O’Neal Indiana F 6-11 230 4
*Shaquille O’Neal Miami C 7-1 325 12
Paul Pierce Boston F 6-6 230 4
#Dwyane Wade Miami G 6-4 212 1
Ben Wallace Detroit F 6-9 240 3

Head coach: Gregg Popovich (San Antonio)
Player Team Pos. Ht. Wt. All-Star
Ray Allen Seattle G 6-5 205 5
*Kobe Bryant L.A. Lakers G 6-6 220 7
*Tim Duncan San Antonio F 7-0 260 7
*Kevin Garnett Minnesota F 6-11 220 8
#Manu Ginobili San Antonio F 6-6 210 1
#Rashard Lewis Seattle F 6-10 215 1
Shawn Marion Phoenix F 6-7 228 2
*Tracy McGrady Houston G 6-8 210 5
Steve Nash Phoenix G 6-3 180 3
Dirk Nowitzki Dallas F 7-0 245 4
#Amaré Stoudemire Phoenix F 6-10 245 1
*Yao Ming Houston C 7-6 310 3

*denotes starter
#denotes first-time selection