MTN DEW 3-Point Contest
MTN DEW 3-Point Contest

2020 MTN DEW 3-Point Contest

Official Event Page

Feb 16, 2020 12:53 AM ET


Buddy Hield's 27-point effort sends him past Devin Booker in the final round.

WINNER: Buddy Hield

Sacramento Kings guard Buddy Hield captured his first MTN Dew 3-point Contest on Saturday by besting contest veteran Devin Booker in the finals as well as Washington Wizards forward Davis Bertans.

Hield scored 27 points out of a maximum 40 in the finals to top Booker’s 26. Bertans poured in 22 points as the first of the three shooters in the finals, but Booker -- filling in as an injury replacement for Damian Lillard -- immediately eliminated Bertans by knocking down seven of his last 10 shots.

Hield came up last in the order, draining his entire money ball rack to edge Booker.

Defending 2019 MTN Dew 3-point Contest champion Joe Harris of the Brooklyn Nets was eliminated in the first round, scoring just 22 points, along with Atlanta’s Trae Young (15), Charlotte’s Devonte Graham (18), Miami’s Duncan Robinson (19) and crowd favorite Zach Lavine of the Chicago Bulls (23).

Devin Booker scores 27 points in the first round.

• Davis Bertans, Washington
• Devin Booker, Phoenix
• Devonte' Graham, Charlotte
• Joe Harris, Brooklyn
• Buddy Hield, Sacramento
• Zach LaVine, Chicago
• Duncan Robinson, Miami
• Trae Young, Atlanta

The 2020 MTN DEW 3-Point Contest featured a new look with the addition of two shots in the “MTN DEW Zone” – two locations positioned equidistant between the traditional racks at the top of the 3-point arc and the adjacent “wing” rack.  Each of the two ball pedestals in the MTN DEW Zone is located 6 feet behind the 3-point line and holds one special green ball, the “3-Ball.”  Shots made with the green ball are worth three points.  Click herefor a diagram showing the location of the MTN DEW Zone.

In addition to the two new shots, the MTN DEW 3-Point Contest will continue to have five main shooting locations – four racks containing four official NBA game balls (each worth one point) and one multicolored “money” ball (worth two points) as well as one special “all money ball” rack.  Every ball on the all money ball rack, which each participant can place at any of the five traditional shooting locations, is worth two points.

With the addition of the MTN DEW Zone, the number of balls in a round has increased to 27 from 25, the amount of time in a round has expanded to 70 seconds (1:10) from 60 seconds (1:00) and the maximum possible score in a round has risen to 40 points from 34 points.  The three competitors with the highest scores in the first round advance to the championship round.  The player with the highest score in the championship round is the winner of the 2020 MTN DEW 3-Point Contest. Click here for a complete explanation of the rules.

Official release & event rules

3-Point Contest Winners:

  • 1986 – Larry Bird, Boston
  • 1987 – Larry Bird, Boston
  • 1988 – Larry Bird, Boston
  • 1989 – Dale Ellis, Seattle
  • 1990 – Craig Hodges, Chicago
  • 1991 – Craig Hodges, Chicago
  • 1992 – Craig Hodges, Chicago
  • 1993 – Mark Price, Cleveland
  • 1994 – Mark Price, Cleveland
  • 1995 – Glen Rice, Miami
  • 1996 – Tim Legler, Washington
  • 1997 – Steve Kerr, Chicago
  • 1998 – Jeff Hornacek, Utah             
  • 2000 – Jeff Hornacek, Utah             
  • 2001 – Ray Allen, Milwaukee
  • 2002 – Peja Stojakovic, Sacramento
  • 2003 – Peja Stojakovic, Sacramento
  • 2004 – Voshon Lenard, Denver
  • 2005 – Quentin Richardson, Phoenix
  • 2006 – Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas
  • 2007 – Jason Kapono, Miami
  • 2008 – Jason Kapono, Toronto
  • 2009 – Daequan Cook, Miami
  • 2010 – Paul Pierce, Boston
  • 2011 – James Jones, Miami
  • 2012 – Kevin Love, Minnesota
  • 2013 – Kyrie Irving, Cleveland
  • 2014 – Marco Belinelli, San Antonio
  • 2015 – Stephen Curry, Golden State
  • 2016 – Klay Thompson, Golden State
  • 2017 – Eric Gordon, Houston
  • 2018 – Devin Booker, Phoenix
  • 2019 – Joe Harris, Brooklyn

Copyright © 2020 NBA Media Ventures, LLC. All rights reserved.

Privacy Policy | Accessibility and Closed Caption | Terms of Use |
Do Not Sell My Personal Information is part of Turner Sports Digital, part of the Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network.

Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. A Time Warner Company.