2019 AT&T Slam Dunk
2019 AT&T Slam Dunk

Hamidou Diallo wins 2019 AT&T Slam Dunk

Thunder guard bests Knicks Dennis Smith Jr. in command performance

Sekou Smith

Sekou Smith NBA.com



Hamidou Diallo's command performance well outpaced his competition in Charlotte.

CHARLOTTE, N.C. -- Oklahoma City Thunder rookie Hamidou Diallo won the battle of young jumping jacks in the AT&T Slam Dunk, outlasting Dennis Smith Jr. of the New York Knicks by being the most consistent dunker of the competition.

Diallo brought the house down with his second dunk of the first round, calling out and jumping over Hall of Fame TNT analyst and original Superman Shaquille O’Neal to net a perfect 50 from the judges. After clearing Shaq, Diallo stuck his elbow in the rim, a nod to dunk contest icon Vince Carter, and snatched open his Thunder jersey to show off the Superman shirt underneath.

“Great dunk,” said Diallo, who also got some help earlier in the competition from Thunder All-Star Russell Westbrook. “The atmosphere was great and I came out and gave the crowd what they were looking for.”

Diallo nailed his final two dunks of the competition, snatching the ball off the head of rapper Quavo and finishing with a two-handed slam on his last dunk. He went for the pure vertical exposure on his first dunk of the final round, catching the ball off the bounce and getting eye-level with the rim before flushing the ball through with his right hand.

Hamidou Diallo's command performance took the 2019 AT&T Slam Dunk title.

Smith Jr. missed his first dunk of the final round, so he was up against it with Diallo’s near-flawless execution.

Smith Jr. tried to save himself with his final attempt, bringing Dwyane Wade and Stephen Curry out to assist him on his final dunk — jumping over Wade and attempting to catch a toss from Curry. He finally got the dunk down, after two misses and a couple of aborted attempts. He snagged a 50 from the judges while drawing a smattering of boos from members of the Spectrum Center crowd looking for a first-time finish.

Ultimately it wasn't enough to rescue the Fayetteville, N.C. native, who utilized some of the better props of the night.

For his second dunk of the First Round, Smith Jr. brought out rapper J. Cole, also a Fayetteville, North Carolina native. He put on Cole’s high-school jersey and then grabbed a pass from Cole, sitting in a chair in the paint, and finished with a come-fly-with-me jam that got the crowd buzzing.

Atlanta Hawks big man John Collins and hometown favorite Miles Bridges, a Hornets rookie, didn’t make it out of the first round. Bridges scored a 50 on his second dunk, a wicked 360 jam off a corner-of-the-backboard toss from Charlotte All-Star Kemba Walker. But he missed all four of his attempts on his first dunk of the competition, sinking his score.


Miles Bridges, Hornets
John Collins, Hawks
Hamidou Diallo, Thunder
Dennis Smith Jr., Knicks

WINNER: Hamidou Diallo

Official release: Bridges, Collins, Diallo and Smith Jr. to take flight

AT&T Slam Dunk Winners

  • 1984 – Larry Nance, Phoenix 
  • 1985 – Dominique Wilkins, Atlanta
  • 1986 – Spud Webb, Atlanta    
  • 1987 – Michael Jordan, Chicago
  • 1988 – Michael Jordan, Chicago
  • 1989 – Kenny Walker, New York
  • 1990 – Dominique Wilkins, Atlanta
  • 1991 – Dee Brown, Boston    
  • 1992 – Cedric Ceballos, Phoenix
  • 1993 – Harold Miner, Miami
  • 1994 – Isaiah Rider, Minnesota
  • 1995 – Harold Miner, Miami  
  • 1996 – Brent Barry, LA Clippers
  • 1997 – Kobe Bryant, L.A. Lakers
  • 2000 – Vince Carter, Toronto
  • 2001 – Desmond Mason, Seattle
  • 2002 – Jason Richardson, Golden State
  • 2003 – Jason Richardson, Golden State
  • 2004 – Fred Jones, Indiana
  • 2005 – Josh Smith, Atlanta
  • 2006 – Nate Robinson, New York
  • 2007 – Gerald Green, Boston
  • 2008 – Dwight Howard, Orlando
  • 2009 – Nate Robinson, New York
  • 2010 – Nate Robinson, New York
  • 2011 – Blake Griffin, LA Clippers
  • 2012 – Jeremy Evans, Utah
  • 2013 – Terrence Ross, Toronto
  • 2014 – East (Paul George, Terrence Ross, John Wall)
  • 2015 – Zach LaVine, Minnesota
  • 2016 – Zach LaVine, Minnesota
  • 2017 – Glenn Robinson III, Indiana
  • 2018 – Donovan Mitchell, Utah
  • 2019 – Hamidou Diallo, Oklahoma City


Copyright © 2020 NBA Media Ventures, LLC. All rights reserved.

If you are having difficulty accessing any content on this website, please visit our Accessibility page.

Privacy Policy | Accessibility and Closed Caption | Terms of Use |
Do Not Sell My Personal Information

NBA.com is part of Turner Sports Digital, part of the Turner Sports & Entertainment Digital Network.

Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. A Time Warner Company.