Skip to main content

Main content


Hawks' Kyle Korver wins 2014-15 NBA Sportsmanship Award

First Hawks player to win Joe Dumars Trophy

POSTED: Apr 29, 2015 10:57 AM ET

Official Release


Kyle Korver

Kyle Korver of the Atlanta Hawks is the recipient of the Joe Dumars Trophy presented to the 2014-15 NBA Sportsmanship Award winner, the NBA announced today. Korver becomes the first Hawks player to receive the honor.

Korver (Southeast) was one of six divisional winners, joining the Toronto Raptors' Amir Johnson (Atlantic), the Chicago Bulls' Pau Gasol (Central), the Oklahoma City Thunder's Nick Collison (Northwest), the Los Angeles Lakers' Jeremy Lin (Pacific) and the New Orleans Pelicans' Anthony Davis (Southwest). The NBA will make a $10,000 donation on behalf of Korver to his charity of choice, Helping Hand Rescue Mission.

Korver received 87 of 317 first-place votes and 2,351 total points from NBA players, who voted on the award for the 11th consecutive year. The six finalists were awarded 11 points for each first-place vote, nine points for each second-place vote, seven points for each third-place vote, five points for each fourth-place vote, three points for each fifth-place vote and one point for each sixth-place vote.

Each team nominated one of its players for the award. The six divisional winners from among 30 team nominees were selected by Mike Bantom, NBA Executive Vice President, Referee Operations; Rod Thorn, NBA President, Basketball Operations; Kiki VanDeWeghe, NBA Senior Vice President, Basketball Operations; Roger Mason, NBPA Deputy Executive Director of Player Relations; and NBA Cares Ambassadors Jason Collins and Bob Lanier, a Hall of Fame center.

Besides the donation to Helping Hand Rescue Mission on behalf of Korver, the NBA will make $5,000 donations to the other five divisional winners' charities of choice: Blessings in a Backpack for Johnson; Gasol Foundation for Gasol; Special Care, Inc. for Collison; Partnership for the Advancement & Immersion of Refugees for Lin; and Audubon Nature Institute for Davis.

The annual award reflects the ideals of sportsmanship -- ethical behavior, fair play and integrity -- in amateur and professional basketball, a key focus of the league's NBA Cares program. The trophy is named for former Detroit Pistons guard and Hall of Famer Joe Dumars, the award's first recipient, in 1995-96.


Player, Team 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th Total
Kyle Korver, Atlanta 87 70 66 31 42 21 2,351
Anthony Davis, New Orleans 56 76 60 55 53 17 2,171
Pau Gasol, Chicago 66 54 58 54 39 46 2,051
Nick Collison, Oklahoma City 35 49 39 70 52 72 1,677
Amir Johnson, Toronto 45 35 35 57 62 83 1,609
Jeremy Lin, Los Angeles Lakers 28 33 59 50 69 78 1,553


1995-96: Joe Dumars, Detroit
1996-97: Terrell Brandon, Cleveland
1997-98: Avery Johnson, San Antonio
1998-99: Hersey Hawkins, Seattle
1999-00: Eric Snow, Philadelphia
2000-01: David Robinson, San Antonio
2001-02: Steve Smith, San Antonio
2002-03: Ray Allen, Seattle
2003-04: P.J. Brown, New Orleans
2004-05: Grant Hill, Orlando
2005-06: Elton Brand, Los Angeles Clippers
2006-07: Luol Deng, Chicago
2007-08: Grant Hill, Phoenix
2008-09: Chauncey Billups, Denver
2009-10: Grant Hill, Phoenix
2010-11: Stephen Curry, Golden State
2011-12: Jason Kidd, Dallas
2012-13: Jason Kidd, New York
2013-14: Mike Conley, Memphis
2014-15: Kyle Korver, Atlanta