Skip to main content

Main content


Kidd wins second straight NBA Sportsmanship Award

POSTED: Apr 30, 2013 3:10 PM ET

Official release


NEW YORK -- Jason Kidd of the New York Knicks is the recipient of the Joe Dumars Trophy presented to the 2012-13 NBA Sportsmanship Award winner, the NBA announced Tuesday. Kidd becomes the first back-to-back winner, having won the award last season as a member of the Dallas Mavericks. Additionally, Kidd is only the second player to win multiple NBA Sportsmanship awards, joining Grant Hill, who has been honored three times.

Kidd (Atlantic) was one of six divisional winners, which included Chicago's Luol Deng (Central), Golden State's Stephen Curry (Pacific), Memphis' Mike Conley (Southwest), Oklahoma City's Nick Collison (Northwest), and Orlando's Jameer Nelson (Southeast).

Kidd received 91 first-place votes (2,474 total points) of a possible 355. The NBA will make a $10,000 donation on behalf of Kidd to The Jason Kidd Foundation, which is dedicated to improving education among the youth, by ensuring that kids of all ages have the tools needed through mentoring, tutoring and technology programs to succeed in life.

For the ninth consecutive year, NBA players voted on this award, with eleven points given for each first-place vote, nine points for each second-place vote, seven points for third, five points for fourth, three points for fifth and one point for each sixth-place vote received. Each team nominated one of its players for the award. Former NBA players John Crotty, Antonio Davis, Eddie Johnson, Steve Smith, and Jay Williams selected the six divisional winners from a pool of 30 team nominees. Each team nominated one of its players for this award.

The NBA will make a $5,000 donation to each of the divisional winner's charities of choice: the Luol Deng Foundation on behalf of Deng; Rapha House on behalf of Curry; Methodist Healthcare Comprehensive Sickle Cell Center on behalf of Conley; Care OKC on behalf of Collison; Pete and Jameer Nelson Foundation on behalf of Nelson.

The annual award reflects the ideals of sportsmanship -- ethical behavior, fair play and integrity -- in amateur and professional basketball, a key focus of the league's NBA Cares program efforts. The trophy is named for former Detroit Pistons guard and Hall of Famer Joe Dumars, the award's first recipient.


1995-96: Joe Dumars, Detroit

1996-97: Terrell Brandon, Cleveland

1997-98: Avery Johnson, San Antonio

1998-99: Hersey Hawkins, Seattle

1999-00: Eric Snow, Philadelphia

2000-01: David Robinson, San Antonio

2001-02: Steve Smith, San Antonio

2002-03: Ray Allen, Seattle

2003-04: P.J. Brown, New Orleans

2004-05: Grant Hill, Orlando

2005-06: Elton Brand, Los Angeles Clippers

2006-07: Luol Deng, Chicago

2007-08: Grant Hill, Phoenix

2008-09: Chauncey Billups, Denver

2009-10: Grant Hill, Phoenix

2010-11: Stephen Curry, Golden State

2011-12: Jason Kidd, Dallas

2012-13: Jason Kidd, New York

Player, team 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th Pts
Jason Kidd, New York 91 64 75 43 38 43 2474
Stephen Curry, Golden State 62 73 62 44 79 31 2261
Luol Deng, Chicago 48 63 79 56 60 47 2155
Mike Conley, Memphis 44 66 57 56 72 54 2027
Nick Collison, Oklahoma City 64 39 40 76 50 83 1948
Jameer Nelson, Orlando 46 50 40 74 50 90 1846