In a collective effort to support youth working towards the goal of higher education, Bay Area professional sports franchises, including the Golden State Warriors, Oakland Athletics, Oakland Raiders, San Francisco 49ers, San Francisco Giants, San Jose Earthquakes and San Jose Sharks, have teamed up for the 18th year of the Bay Area All-Star Scholarship Team (BAASST). As part of this program-the first of its kind among professional sports organizations-seven high school seniors have been selected to each receive a $3,000 scholarship. Since its inception, over $330,000 has been given to local student athletes to be applied toward their college education.

Each Bay Area sports franchise will recognize this year's seven Bay Area All-Star Scholarship Team recipients in a ceremony this year.

The 2014 BAASST recipients are Connor Augustine of Dixon High School (Oakland A's), Camerin Rencken of Maria Carillo High School (Oakland Raiders), Aaliyah Douglas of Oakland Technical School (Golden State Warriors), Keanna Tofiga of South San Francisco High School (San Francisco 49ers), Jordan Wilson of George Washington High School (San Francisco Giants), Damont Hardnett of Santa Clara High School (San Jose Earthquakes), and Margaret Moor of Mountain View High School (San Jose Sharks).

Students were selected from high schools within ten Bay Area counties: Alameda, Contra Costa, San Francisco, Marin, Napa, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Solano and Sonoma. Each high school was provided with information about this scholarship and was encouraged to nominate candidates that met the following criteria: a minimum grade point average of 3.0, displays leadership qualities in the classroom and/or inspirational qualities on the athletic field and demonstrates the value of education, good work ethic and community outreach.

Recent Warriors BAASST Recipients

2013 Claire Williams Amador Valley High School Pleasanton
2012 Osayande Aihie San Leandro High Schoo San Leandro
2011 Beatriz Cuevas Emery High School Emeryville
2010 Hilary Vance San Leandro High School San Leandro
2009 Tyrone Radford Castlemont Business, Information and Technology School Oakland
2008 Marika Zumbro Oakland Technical School Oakland
2007 Ayano Kohlgruber Livermore High School Livermore
2006 Sara Heaps Encinal High School Alameda