2011 Timberwolves Shootout

The Minnesota Timberwolves today announced the 15th annual Timberwolves Shootout will be held at Target Center on Saturday, Jan. 8. The Shootout will feature four of Minnesota's top boys basketball programs along with four elite entries from outside of the state.

The Timberwolves Shootout has attracted some of the best basketball talent from all over the country. Through the years, 23 future NBA players have participated in the Shootout, including Timberwolves forward Kevin Love and guard Sebastian Telfair along with recent top draftees DeMarcus Cousins, Jrue Holiday and All-Star Josh Smith. In addition, more than 200 participants proceeded to play Division I college basketball. This year's Timberwolves Shootout will bring in over 10 players expected to play in Division I college basketball programs.

The Shootout's first game (1:00 p.m.) features the Viborg Vikings of South Dakota against Minnesota's Roseville Raiders. After leading his team in scoring last year, multi-sport athlete Cory Jacobsen returns for his senior year as he hopes to bring the Vikings a state title. Roseville's top scorer last season, Lucas Brown (17.3 ppg), leads a veteran Raiders team with eight seniors on their roster.

The Onalaska (Wisc.) Hilltoppers and Benilde-St. Margaret's Red Knights will face off in the second game at 3:00 p.m. The Hilltoppers are looking to continue their success from last season when they went 21-5 with a 10-2 conference record. They are led by junior forward Nick Arenz, who led the team with 12.9 ppg last season. The Red Knights piled up 12 league wins en route to a 24-7 overall record last season and are ready for more success this year, led by a strong junior class that includes Isaiah Zierden, Sanjay Lumpkin and Will Dunn.

A pair of Big Ten recruits match up in the shootout's third game as the Washington Warriors from Cedar Rapids, Iowa, take on the Chaska Hawks at 5:00 p.m. The Warriors are led by Josh Oglesby, a Rivals.com three-star prospect, who has already committed to play at the University of Iowa next year. The Hawks feature Ross Travis, a 6-7 forward who will be playing at Penn State next season. Travis is one of eight seniors on the Chaska team.

The final game of the day (7:00 p.m.) will feature another Iowa-Minnesota border battle, pitting Iowa's Linn-Mar Lions against Minnesota's Apple Valley Eagles. The Lions are led by guards Marcus Paige (Undecided), Matt Bohannon (Northern Iowa) and Shane Benton (North Dakota), all of whom will play Division I basketball next year. Meanwhile, the Eagles are led by freshman Tyus Jones, who spent time last year training with the U.S. National 16-and-under team. Despite his age, Jones has already proven to be an electric point guard and has even received a scholarship offer to play at the University of Iowa.

Tickets for all four contests are available for $10 at the Target Center box office on the day of the Shootout. The ticket is good for the entire day and also includes a free ticket to a future Timberwolves game.

Timberwolves Shootout Director Jeff Munneke can be reached at 612-673-1639.
For more news and notes on the team follow the Minnesota Timberwolves and Jonah on Twitter. Visit the Wolves official Facebook Page here.