Timberwolves to Host MLK Day Celebration

Timberwolves to Host MLK Day Celebration Monday, Jan. 18 from Noon - 12:30 p.m.

The Minnesota Timberwolves FastBreak Foundation will host a Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. celebration on MLK Day this Monday, Jan. 18 at Target Center from 12:00 p.m. – 12:30 p.m. prior to the team's game against the Philadelphia 76ers (2:30 p.m. tipoff). This will be the 10th time in team history that the Wolves have hosted a celebration to honor the great civil rights leader.

This year's celebration features an original theatrical performance entitled "Taking A Stand...Moving the Dream Forward" focusing on the Children's Crusade during the civil rights era. Written by local directors T. Mychael Rambo and Brian Grandison, the production, performed by area high school students, features elements of drama, video and songs from the civil rights era. Referencing historical milestones of the civil rights movement, audience members will be engaged by a performance that both educates and celebrates the legacy of Dr. King.

A ticket to the Timberwolves vs. Philadelphia game is required for admission to the celebration. For more information, please call the Timberwolves at 612-673-8386.

In past years, the Timberwolves' Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. celebration has attracted participants such as Coretta Scott King, the Boys Choir of Harlem, actresses Nia Long and Dawn Lewis and the Walker West Music Academy Youth Jazz Ensemble.

The Timberwolves FastBreak Foundation provides and supports hands-on programs that positively impact Minnesota youth. Through giving, education and basketball opportunities, the Foundation enables young people to make responsible decisions, contribute to their futures, and experience lifelong memories. In the past year, the Minnesota Timberwolves FastBreak Foundation and the Minnesota Lynx Foundation have combined to impact 1,852 organizations with $820,427 in in-kind donations, 60,000 Tickets for Kids donations, 1,942 volunteer hours, 35 Heroes in the Making on-court presentations, eight $10,000 grants and five $2,000 scholarships to high school students.