Suns News

Majerle Hustle Award - 2009-10

Dan Majerle presents the 2008-09 Majerle Hustle Award to Louis Amundson
Barry Gossage/NBAE/Getty Images


Suns fans can vote for their choice on through April 17

Posted: April 9, 2010

Who is your choice for the 2009-10 Dan Majerle Hustle Award?
Who is your choice for the 2009-10 Dan Majerle Hustle Award?
View Results

PHOENIX – Suns fans once again have an opportunity to help select the winner of the Dan Majerle Hustle Award by casting their vote on Fan balloting is open now through Wednesday, April 14 at 3 p.m.

The award is presented at the end of each season to the Suns player who most personified the qualities of Suns Ring of Honor member Dan Majerle. At Majerle’s Ring of Honor induction on March 9, 2003, Colangelo said, “When you think of Dan Majerle, you think of a guy who gave maximum effort in every game, every practice…in everything he did. It is this work ethic that inspired the creation of the award.”

The winner of the 2010 Majerle Hustle Award will be selected based on the results of five voting categories: Suns fans, Suns players, Suns coaches, Suns employees and by Majerle himself. Each voting group carries equal weight in the final selection.

In addition to the award, a $9,000 donation will be made to the charity of the winning player’s choice. Suns forward Louis Amundson was the recipient of last year’s award. Former Suns forward Bo Outlaw won the inaugural award in 2003, followed by guard Casey Jacobsen in 2004, All-Star Shawn Marion in 2005, guard Raja Bell in 2006, guard Leandro Barbosa in 2007, and forward Grant Hill in 2008.

This year’s award will be presented during the Suns first home game in Round one of the 2010 NBA Playoffs.