Gary Neal Named To NBA’s All-Rookie First Team

SAN ANTONIO, TX (May 11, 2011) –The NBA today announced that San Antonio Spurs guard Gary Neal was named to the NBA’s 2010-11 All-Rookie First Team. Joining Neal on the NBA’s All-Rookie First Team is L.A. Clippers forward Blake Griffin, Sacramento center DeMarcus Cousins, Washington guard John Wall and New York guard Landry Fields.

Neal becomes the second undrafted rookie to make the NBA’s All-Rookie First Team in league history, joining Jorge Garbajosa who earned the honor in 2006-07 with the Toronto Raptors. Overall, only 10 undrafted rookies have been named to either a first or second All-Rookie team in history. Neal is the fifth Spur, and the first since Tony Parker in 2001-02, to be named to the All-Rookie First Team. This marks the ninth time in team history that San Antonio has placed a player on any All-Rookie team.

Neal appeared in 80 games, averaging 9.8 points, 2.5 rebounds and 1.2 assists in 21.1 minutes. He shot .451 (285-of-632) from the field, .419 (129-of-308) from three-point territory and .808 (84-of-104) from the free throw line. Among rookies, he ranked first in three-point field goal percentage and three-point field goals made, second in free throw percentage, fifth in points and seventh in field goal percentage. He broke the Spurs rookie record for three-point field goal percentage and three-pointers made in a season and ranks third on the team’s all-time rookie leaders for free throw percentage.

Neal became just the sixth undrafted rookie in NBA history to participate in the Rookie Challenge at All-Star Weekend, where he finished the night with 20 points, 4 rebounds and 4 assists. In the playoffs, he appeared in all six games, averaging 7.7 points and 3.0 rebounds in 18.5 minutes. In Game Five against Memphis, Neal hit a three-pointer as time expired to send the game into overtime, a game the Spurs went on to win 110-103.

Below is a complete list of San Antonio selections to the NBA’s All-Rookie teams:

Season Player Team
2010-11 Gary Neal First Team
2009-10 DeJuan Blair Second Team
2002-03 Manu Ginobili Second Team
2001-02 Tony Parker First Team
1997-98 Tim Duncan First Team
1989-90 David Robinson First Team
1989-90 Sean Elliott Second Team
1988-89 Willie Anderson First Team
1987-88 Greg Anderson Only one team










The voting panel consisted of the NBA’s 30 head coaches, who were asked to select five players for the first team and five players for the second team, regardless of position. Coaches were not permitted to vote for players on their own team. Two points were awarded for first team votes and one for second team votes.